Master after WBPP is green and I can't fix it.

MCox

Hello community.

First post here and I imagine it wont be my last.

I'm a fly fishing guide who has taken up the hobby of astrophotography, I'm fairly new to the hobby and am learning mostly from the University of Youtube.

I'm using a Sony a7iii and a sony 200 to 600mm, on a SA GTi tracker.

I've gotten fairly good pictures of Comet Pons_Brooks, but I'm struggling horribly at processing.

Mainly, with WBPP I suppose.

Every time I run WBPP, my master frame and my light frames of the comet are completely green. I can see a fair stacked image but it's all on the green channel. For the life of me I can't figure out how to get the merged, aligned RGB master after WBPP.

I'd be most appreciative of any help and assistance.

It sounds as though you have not colour calibrated the image. Raw images from OSC cameras always have a strong green cast (because the sensor is most sensitive to green light). The SPCC colour calibration process corrects this colour (by cross-referencing recognised stars in the image to a spectrophotometric catalogue - so each catalogue star in your image is effectively a colour calibration reference point). Choosing a comet as a target makes things harder - you would be better advised to try non-moving targets to develop basic processing techniques. It doesn't help that the comet does have an intrinsic green colour itself.

I have not color calibrated. But all my individual frames look fine color wise.

While the WBPP was doing it's thing, several times it stopped to get a confirmation about plate solving. I have no information about the plate solving numbers so I licked cancel. IS this what youre referring to by the SPCC process?

I know what your saying about the green hue.....but this is not that. I mean it's like only the green rgb channel is coming through. I can still see the comet and stars, but everything is green......much like my Avatar with the big M in it.