LRGB combination

Emanuele

Hi all.

I have no data to play with and so I am studying Pixinsight to try to understand everything I can.
Suppose you have some LRGB frames of an object.
Do you process the L and RGB separately and then blend the two files together, or do you combine the L and RGB while they are still linear, and process it that way?

Thanks.
E.

Hi Emanuele,

Do you process the L and RGB separately and then blend the two files together, or do you combine the L and RGB while they are still linear, and process it that way?

You cannot perform a LRGB combination with linear images. The reason is that CIE L*a*b* and CIE L*c*h*, which are used to perform the LRGB combination, are nonlinear color spaces.

So you must process your RGB and L images separately. Apply all required processes to the linear images before LRGBCombination (for example, color calibration and deconvolution should be applied to the linear RGB and L images). Then apply the initial nonlinear histogram transformations to both RGB and L, perform the LRGB combination, and continue working on the combined image. Most PixInsight tools allow you to apply processes only to the luminance of a color image (actually, to the lightness component of CIE L*a*b*), without requiring a separate L image.