Author Topic: Help menus  (Read 1700 times)

Offline tloebl

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Help menus
« on: 2015 May 10 17:43:25 »
Hi,

Simple issue I'm sure...

I run Win 7  with 1360x768 monitor resolution.  When I pan the mouse over an option the help menu pops up to explain that function. Unfortunately only part of the description shows most of the time. Do I need a higher resolution monitor to display the entire text? Is the information available somewhere else?

Tom

Offline msmythers

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
    • View Profile
    • astrobin
Re: Help menus
« Reply #1 on: 2015 May 10 18:23:40 »
Tom,

The requirements as stated in the requirements page for PixInsight says the following:

Video Hardware

Minimum required video mode: 1024×768, 24-bit true color.
Minimum reasonable video mode: 1280×1024, 32-bit true color.
Minimum recommended video mode: 1680×1050, 32-bit true color.
Recommended performance video modes: 2560×1440 / 2560×1600, 32-bit true color.
We strongly recommend a high-end 27-inch or larger LED/LCD panel, or two panels driven by a dual-head video card. For serious image processing, working with large monitors is a real must with PixInsight.

http://www.pixinsight.com/sysreq/index.html

I went and tested this on my computer which I am running Windows 7 also. I had no problem with the mouse over help menus. I tested at my normal 1920x1080, at 1280x768 and at at 1280x768 with a high DPI for the font display. Here are the screen captures.

You might want to check and see if your display driver and monitor driver is up to date.


Mike

Offline tloebl

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: Help menus
« Reply #2 on: 2015 May 11 05:17:07 »
Hi Mike,

thanks for your comprehensive response. I am using an Intel NUC pc with the latest  Intel video driver installed. Admittedly, my monitor is an older 9 x 16 aspect ratio 19" Samsung with a maximum 1320 x 768 resolution but it does have the latest driver installed. I attached a typical screen menu though some of them do show more information, they are still clipped on the bottom.

Tom

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4466
    • View Profile
Re: Help menus
« Reply #3 on: 2015 May 11 14:59:19 »
there are actually 2 targets for the pop-up help. one is the descriptive label and one is the UI control itself. if you can't see the whole tooltip, try mousing over to the label or control - one of them should work.

rob

Offline tloebl

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: Help menus
« Reply #4 on: 2015 May 11 15:49:06 »
Hi Rob,

if you mean, for example, using the HDR Multiscale Transform, I put the cursor on  "Number of Layers" and then on the actual num,ber (default of 6), I have the same result on both...partial text. 

Tom

Offline tloebl

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: Help menus
« Reply #5 on: 2015 May 11 15:54:43 »
The second frame didn't make it...

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4466
    • View Profile
Re: Help menus
« Reply #6 on: 2015 May 11 16:32:03 »
bummer, this used to work. i guess maybe there is some issue with your video driver and/or PI? i am running macosx 10.8 and i tried this just now - turns out the tooltips are visible for me either way... but they used to be broken.

rob