Author Topic: 50mm pics very blotchy  (Read 8444 times)

Offline oetie

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
50mm pics very blotchy
« on: 2014 February 05 05:25:15 »
Hi there,

I was wondering if someone could help me with the following: I'm just starting out, both with astrophotography and with PixInsight. I'm experimenting with a 50mm lens with my unmodded EOS450D on an EQ-3 and though the results look very promising, I do tend to get really blotchy images. My most recent attempt was the constellation of Orion. I took lights, darks and flats (my first attempt at flat files, though). I tried several things, like playing with DBE settings, running multiple DBE sessions, colour correction, background neutralisation, but every time I hit the STF "auto" button, the picture turns into a red/green cow.

Here's an example:
http://www.astrobin.com/full/76709/0/

Is there something I can do to prevent this?

Offline NGC7789

• PixInsight Old Hand
    • View Profile
Re: 50mm pics very blotchy
« Reply #1 on: 2014 February 05 05:30:40 »
Actually to me this looks pretty good. These look typical to me for a DSLR (I shoot a modified 50D and started with an old Rebel 300D). You don't mention your exposure times? How many subs and how long are they. Usually the best way to deal with this is to increase total exposure time.

Another option might be to dither although I don't think your mount can do it and I'm not sure if the dither technique matters as such short focal lengths. I don't dither myself (yet) so maybe others can comment on that.

Offline oetie

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 2014 February 05 07:39:07 »
Hi Caroline's Rose, thanks for your reply!  I have 20 lights, 9 darks and 20 flat files. Per sub exposure time is 5 minutes, at least for the darks and lights. I was kind of hoping that would be enough.

I had to look up what dithering is and I'm afraid that my pictures are already slightly misaligned so I guess that means that they are dithered? :)