Author Topic: Batch histogram transformation  (Read 5179 times)

Offline cwiede

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Batch histogram transformation
« on: 2013 January 24 11:20:02 »
Hi,
I'm a newbie and would like to know if there is a way to apply a batch histogram transformation to a large set of images in a specified folder. The idea is to do the batch histogram transformation and then convert the images to jpg in order to give a quick look to all the images (e.g. to find satellite tracks) or to make a timelapse movie.
Thank you for your advise
Christof

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #1 on: 2013 January 24 11:37:16 »
Hi

For inspection try the Blink module , will do most of what you want

Harry
Harry Page

Offline cwiede

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #2 on: 2013 January 24 12:06:58 »
Thank you! That indeed is a nice tool!
Any other options? Because there is no way to export the images or to set the histogram transformation parameters manually.

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4472
    • View Profile
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #3 on: 2013 January 24 12:17:32 »
actually... i found this out while processing comet images - blink will save the images with the HT applied. the HT is dynamic in the sense that it's looking for the same background value and mean value in the stretched image.

to save the images just highlight them all (not check - that's different) and click the "copy" button (the one that looks like two disks). point it at a folder and it will copy all the selected images with the HT applied.

i made this movie with the output of Blink: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1N6gjvym8o

rob

Offline cwiede

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #4 on: 2013 January 24 13:03:33 »
Hi Rob,
can you explain better? When I import the images they are automatically all checked. Do I have to uncheck them? When I highlight them all (with shift and mouse) and press the two-disk-button a file-save-dialog appears, where I can choose the folder for saving. But the saved images seem not to have the HT applied. What do you mean with "point it at a folder"?
The movie is cool!
Christof
By the way: I use a iMac Snow Leopard and Pixinsight 1.8 RC1

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4472
    • View Profile
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #5 on: 2013 January 24 14:55:41 »
hmm, let me look at this again. i just tried it and the files were not saved with the HT performed.

the Animation script (in the scripts menu) definitely will save with the HT applied. i'm not sure why Blink is not behaving. i wonder if you have to save the files using the "crop" tool in blink. i'll check it out.


Offline cwiede

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #6 on: 2013 January 28 09:18:23 »
Hi Rob,
I made several trials with crop and without, but without effect. The HT was never applied to the saved images.
And in my script-menu I don't have any animation script. Do I have to download it?
Christof

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4472
    • View Profile
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #7 on: 2013 January 28 11:39:05 »
Animation must have been removed from later releases, since Blink supercedes it. i know i did all of this work with saved stretches using Blink on my macbook and it worked, but when i used my desktop machine it did not. i can't explain it.

are you running 1.8 or 1.7? i'm pretty sure Animation still shipped with 1.7.

rob

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 6873
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #8 on: 2013 January 28 12:14:47 »
The old Animation script is no longer included in the standard PixInsight distribution since version 1.8. It doesn't make sense, since the Blink tool supersedes it.

Besides Blink (which is a nice solution, thanks Rob for pointing it out), how about ImageContainer to automate the HistogramTransformation tool?
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4472
    • View Profile
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #9 on: 2013 January 28 14:01:49 »
i think there must be a bug in blink, or perhaps it does not have the exact same functionality as Animation. i know i've exported stretched images out of Blink, but it's not always reproducible for me. at least on 1.7.

i'm not sure if IC + HT can do what i wanted to do. i had a bunch of comet images; for whatever reason (moonlight or perhaps even clouds) the background illumination of each image was different. so what i needed was AutoSTF + HT on each one, so that the output images would have similar statistics.

maybe AutoHistogram could be used? i dunno. what blink/animation does when you ask it to apply HT to each image is exactly what i needed.

Offline Alejandro Tombolini

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1267
    • View Profile
    • Próxima Sur
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #10 on: 2013 January 28 17:32:33 »
Hi Rob, what you mean is the "Crop & create video" button, the green one.

Saludos, Alejandro.

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4472
    • View Profile
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #11 on: 2013 January 28 17:44:11 »
was there an upgrade to blink for 1.8? i am still using 1.7.

crop does the same thing as save - no HT is applied. the tooltip does not say anything about "video".

rob

Offline Alejandro Tombolini

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1267
    • View Profile
    • Próxima Sur
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #12 on: 2013 January 28 17:52:08 »
mmmmh, I do not remmember exactly where i get this version of Blink. I am with 1,7 under linux, let me check if I have it on Windows.

Saludos. Alejandro.

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4472
    • View Profile
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #13 on: 2013 January 28 19:52:37 »
that's a different version than what shipped with 1.7. unless it did not ship with 1.7 and i added it in. did you write this or NKV? i cant remember now.

rob

Offline Alejandro Tombolini

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1267
    • View Profile
    • Próxima Sur
Re: Batch histogram transformation
« Reply #14 on: 2013 January 29 03:28:38 »
NKV wrote it!, i found the original post, http://pixinsight.com/forum/index.php?topic=3604.msg32724#msg32724
Saludos, Alejandro