Author Topic: OS X bug: Documentation Browser partially covers Process Explorer  (Read 3360 times)

Offline marekc

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
I've suddenly started having a GUI bug in the Process Explorer window of PI. When I click on the Process Explorer tab, the Process Explorer palette comes out, as usual, but the right half of the palette is covered with the Documentation Browser. I can still click on Process icons, and the Process instances start up just like I want, but I can't see the names of the Processes very well. I've tried everything I can think of, but I can't get the partial Doc Browser to go away. I can't properly read the Documentation, either, since the Doc Browser `cover' is so narrow.

I'm running PI 1.7 on a 2009-era Mac Book Pro, OS X `Snow Leopard' (10.6.8). Several updates of the documentation have recently installed themselves, but this doesn't seem to have started after one of these updates. It just seems to have started by itself.

Offline RABaker

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: OS X bug: Documentation Browser partially covers Process Explorer
« Reply #1 on: 2012 January 29 13:17:30 »
I have exactly the same issue on my MacPro desktop computer, OS X 'Snow Leopard' 10.6.8.  Like you, I have been unable to find any way to get rid of the Documentation Browser.

Richard Baker
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Harry Page

Offline marekc

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: OS X bug: Documentation Browser partially covers Process Explorer
« Reply #3 on: 2012 January 29 17:23:18 »
Hi Harry,

Thanks for the link to your thread - I'm glad that Juan is working on it. I'm looking forward to a fix in a future version!

- Marek

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 6934
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: OS X bug: Documentation Browser partially covers Process Explorer
« Reply #4 on: 2012 January 30 12:21:37 »
Hi,

This bug is now fixed in PI Core 1.7.5, which will be released in a few days. Thanks for your patience!
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline marekc

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: OS X bug: Documentation Browser partially covers Process Explorer
« Reply #5 on: 2012 February 09 23:45:32 »
I hate to say it, but I'm seeing this GUI bug again. I just updated PI, and I'm currently running 1.07.05.0779, under Snow Leopard, on a 2009-era Mac Book Pro.

IIRC, the bug had gone away with the previous version, but I'm seeing it again now with this version.

- Marek

Offline DaveS

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
    • View Profile
    • Dave's Astronomy Pages
Re: OS X bug: Documentation Browser partially covers Process Explorer
« Reply #6 on: 2012 February 10 09:53:11 »
I had the same problem, and for me, the solution was, as suggested by Harry, to go to the Windows Start Menu, and run the PixInsight reset.

I needed to do this twice, it did resolve the problem.

Dave
8" LX200ACF
William Optics FLT110
NEQ6 Mount
SXVF-H9
SXVR-16
SX Lodestar
DMK21AU04
Baader LRGB and NB filters
DiY Observatory
http://www.progressiveastroimaging.com/davesastronomy/

Offline marekc

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: OS X bug: Documentation Browser partially covers Process Explorer
« Reply #7 on: 2012 February 10 19:30:59 »
Hi Dave,

Thanks very much for the suggestion. It sounds like Harry's workaround is specific to a Windows system.

Does anyone know if there's a similar workaround on OS X? (I'm using Snow Leopard.)

- Marek

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 6934
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: OS X bug: Documentation Browser partially covers Process Explorer
« Reply #8 on: 2012 February 11 00:44:05 »
Dave, Marek,

I guess I know what happens. This bug is fixed, but your Process Explorer window has a wrong size and it simply requires you to manually resize it. If you click on Process Explorer's right border and drag to the right, you can resize the window to a reasonable width and this problem will be gone.

Regarding Harry's suggestion, there are two ways to perform a complete reset of PixInsight settings on Mac OS X:

* Open a Terminal window and enter the following command (assuming you have PI in the /Applications folder):

/Applications/PixInsight64.app/Contents/MacOS/PixInsight64 --uninstall

* Or alternatively:

- Right-click on the PixInsight64.app application bundle on Finder.
- Press the Ctrl key and hold it pressed.
- Select the Run option from the context menu.
- A dialog box opens. Release the Ctrl key.

In both cases answer yes to the confirmation dialog box. The same applies to the 32-bit version (replace PixInsight64 by PixInsight32).

Let me know if this helps.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline DaveS

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
    • View Profile
    • Dave's Astronomy Pages
Re: OS X bug: Documentation Browser partially covers Process Explorer
« Reply #9 on: 2012 February 11 06:04:13 »
Hi Juan

I had tried to do as you suggest, when I first downloaded and installed the latest update, but there was no provison (arrows) for dragging the edge of the explorer window.

It wasn't until I did the reset, as suggested by Harry, that the problem disappeared.

The GUI is working perfectly now .  :)

Regards

Dave
8" LX200ACF
William Optics FLT110
NEQ6 Mount
SXVF-H9
SXVR-16
SX Lodestar
DMK21AU04
Baader LRGB and NB filters
DiY Observatory
http://www.progressiveastroimaging.com/davesastronomy/

Offline marekc

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: OS X bug: Documentation Browser partially covers Process Explorer
« Reply #10 on: 2012 February 11 13:02:04 »
Hi Juan,

Thank you very much for the procedure! I tried the Terminal-window one, and it seems to have worked fine. No more Process Explorer window bug!  :-)

- Marek