Author Topic: Calibration and align batch operations  (Read 135687 times)

Offline troypiggo

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #435 on: 2012 June 12 02:49:09 »
I'm not using any Mac GUI enhancements and I don't recall changing the fonts in PI but will check tomorrow.

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #436 on: 2012 June 12 09:19:47 »
This version the process icons no longer remember the files selected at time of saving.

I have just checked this on Linux, Windows and Mac OS X, and it works perfectly. Could somebody please confirm the same issue?
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline troypiggo

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #437 on: 2012 June 14 20:07:59 »
G'day Juan, not sure if you want to move this stuff to the bugs section, or it's fine here.  Sorry.

I called a friend that uses the Win version, 32 bit Win XP.  He confirmed that if he creates a process icon, it does retain the filenames as expected.

I'll try to get in touch with someone that has a Mac 64bit similar to mine.

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #438 on: 2012 June 15 16:44:36 »
Hi all,

I have just released an update with version 1.22 of the BatchPreprocessing script (source code attached). Just a few minor changes for compatibility with the new ImageIntegration module version 1.8.1, also released today.

Enjoy!
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4685
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #439 on: 2012 June 15 18:04:22 »
using the older script (not the release made just above this post) i'm not having any problems with the process icons not remembering the filenames.

clicking the process icon brings up an intermediate window with metadata about the script, and applying that window globally re-opens the script UI. not sure if that's normal but that's how it works on my installation. this is on lion with all the latest updates; macbook air core i7.

maybe the only caveat is that i'm only trying this whole process after having loaded a project containing the script process icons.

Offline troypiggo

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #440 on: 2012 June 16 01:49:24 »
Sorry to say it's still not remembering the files for me after this update  :(

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #441 on: 2012 June 16 01:59:59 »
Quote
Sorry to say it's still not remembering the files for me after this update

This is really strange. I have checked the script exhaustively on FreeBSD, Linux, Windows and Mac OS X, and this doesn't happen.

Do you have the "Export calibration files" option disabled? In such case, the script won't include any file paths in exported instances. This is by design. This option should normally be enabled (checked).
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #442 on: 2012 June 16 02:32:53 »
Rob,

Quote
clicking the process icon brings up an intermediate window with metadata about the script, and applying that window globally re-opens the script UI. not sure if that's normal but that's how it works on my installation

Yes, this is the normal behavior. Scripts are very different from normal processes (modules) in PixInsight. There is a Script process that works like a bridge between both worlds and can be used to execute any script instance, so when you double-click a Script icon, the Script tool is shown loaded with the icon's data.

You can also run a Script icon globally without opening the Script tool. Right-click the icon and select "Execute in the global context".

Quote
this is on lion with all the latest updates; macbook air core i7.

AHA! :) I am extremely interested in knowing how the script (and the rest of PI in general) looks on Lion. Some users are reporting screen rendering problems that we cannot reproduce (Troy is an example). Could you please post a screenshot?
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline troypiggo

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #443 on: 2012 June 16 02:42:46 »
Quote
Sorry to say it's still not remembering the files for me after this update

This is really strange. I have checked the script exhaustively on FreeBSD, Linux, Windows and Mac OS X, and this doesn't happen.

Do you have the "Export calibration files" option disabled? In such case, the script won't include any file paths in exported instances. This is by design. This option should normally be enabled (checked).

Aah.  Indeed.  That's it!  I assumed that I didn't need any calibration files exported, because they were masters.  Enabled that option back again, and now it is remembering the files.  Thankyou and sorry for the confusion/distraction.

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4685
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #444 on: 2012 June 16 10:44:18 »
Rob,

You can also run a Script icon globally without opening the Script tool. Right-click the icon and select "Execute in the global context".

thanks for the tip. the intermediary process did come in handy last night though because i had updated BatchPreprocessing and it failed to run due to a different checksum. luckily i figured out that all you have to do is update the checksum in the script process window and i was off and running again.

Quote
this is on lion with all the latest updates; macbook air core i7.

AHA! :) I am extremely interested in knowing how the script (and the rest of PI in general) looks on Lion. Some users are reporting screen rendering problems that we cannot reproduce (Troy is an example). Could you please post a screenshot?

sure. strangely i do not have the UI artifacts that Troy has reported, but i did have to grow the script window a little bit. unfortunately on Lion i do still have the problem i had on Snow Leopard - as scripts run and activate the console window, PI raises itself and steals focus. i pretty much have to stop doing other work while i'm running any script in PI.


Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4685
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #445 on: 2012 June 16 13:03:30 »
oh - one other thing. i just realized that my image has been mirror-reversed by this script. changing the FITS reader to up-bottom, or giving the up-bottom hint in ImageIntegration fixes this. but i'm wondering why this even happens in the first place. the FITS reader was already set to bottom-up, and the script had bottom-up checked by default... so where did the mirroring come from?

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4685
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #446 on: 2012 July 04 19:06:06 »
and one more one more thing :)

i don't know if this qualifies as a bug or as a feature request, but i see that the script always overwrites files. i have some older canon RAW files that i've been reprocessing, and at the time i captured these lights, the filenames were generated as IMG_NNNN.CR2. if i have 2 files with the same name, the last one in the list overwrites any prior ones with the same name.

i thought i might get around this by doing Add Custom and assigning a bogus filter name to each night's files. however, when i do this, the lights do not show up in the list unless i add them twice, the 2nd time with a different filter name. at that point the script says the file was already added with a different filter name and displays the file in the list. finally, i then need multiple flats. if i try to add the same master flat with different filter names in Add Custom, it is not added to the list. that's probably the correct behavior though and i can easily duplicate those files at the filesystem level...

i originally tried to get around the multiple lights with the same name problem by making symbolic links to the files, but adding the files to the script causes the symlinks to be dereferenced. this might be an OSX issue more than anything else though.

can we get an option to uniquify calibrated/debayered/registered output filenames in the script?

Offline vicent_peris

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
    • http://www.astrofoto.es/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #447 on: 2012 July 07 14:13:50 »
Hi,

There is a problem with this script: the flat frames are classified by exposure time. IMHO, there isn't any reason for doing this. And it's a big problem if you have skyflats of varying exposures, as the script won't make any master flat frame because each single flat frame has a different exposure time.

Could this be corrected, please?

Best regards,
Vicent.

Offline troypiggo

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #448 on: 2012 July 08 16:21:49 »
Hey guys, for those using Win32 and having the memory problem with ImageIntegration, I don't think they get the option of adjusting the Buffer and Stack sizes with BPP as it is.  I just posted a manual edit solution that I'm hoping will work for them.  Perhaps these values could be available for editing in the next update?

PS - I know the idea is that the II in BPP is just a quickie and should be done manually anyway for the best results, but for some the BPP II is enough, and for those on Win32 it doesn't even work and the script isn't usable with II enabled in it.

Offline kwiechen

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #449 on: 2012 July 13 12:50:35 »
Hi,

There is a problem with this script: the flat frames are classified by exposure time. IMHO, there isn't any reason for doing this. And it's a big problem if you have skyflats of varying exposures, as the script won't make any master flat frame because each single flat frame has a different exposure time.

Could this be corrected, please?

Best regards,
Vicent.

Hi,

I have tested with the latest update: flats are grouped by FILTER - the script integrates sky flats with varying exposure time values. Its a problem with the user interface. The first value found for a filter name seems to be displayed in the tree view.

Best,

Kai