Author Topic: Calibration and align batch operations  (Read 135698 times)

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #375 on: 2012 May 07 06:16:22 »
Hi

Indeed this does debayer the image correctly, But the image is loaded up the same orientation what ever way the box is checked  >:D

Makes my comment in my video " check setting with the debayer mod " slightly redundant

It would make more sense for the images to be treated the same inside the script and outside ( by default anyway )

Harry
Harry Page

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #376 on: 2012 May 07 12:12:46 »
Hi Harry,

The latest version seems to have lost the ability to save any image  files when you save a "new instance"

Does this happen consistently? I have just checked the script and it saves/restores all file items normally.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #377 on: 2012 May 07 12:17:51 »
Hi

Spent all day trying to get it to work inc rebooting machine and now it works  :yell:

Will keep my eye on  it and see if it happens again

Harry
Harry Page

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #378 on: 2012 May 07 12:24:30 »
It would make more sense for the images to be treated the same inside the script and outside ( by default anyway )

Since this script is intended to make things simpler, and since most users don't (want to) know what this orientation stuff is all about, I avoided that behavior on purpose. By default, the script loads all FITS files with the 'normal' orientation used by all amateur image acquisition applications (which is the opposite to the professional orientation used by default in PixInsight). This 'forced setting' prevents a common source of errors (wrongly oriented images, wrong CFA patterns) and makes the whole preprocessing task more consistent.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #379 on: 2012 May 07 12:30:56 »
Quote
There is a bug at line 250 of BatchPreprocessing-helper.js. The line read:
Code: [Select]

      if ( ext != ".fit" && ext != ".$" )

but the calling code in BatchPreprocessing-engine.js around line 385 reads
Code: [Select]

   if ( ext == ".fit" || ext == ".fits" || ext == ".fts" )

The test  at line 250 of BatchPreprocessing-helper.js must accept files with extensions 'fits' and 'fts' also.

Thank you for catching this. I'll include a fix in the next release. However I don't think the original problem is due to ".fts" extension, is it?
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #380 on: 2012 May 07 12:34:17 »
It would make more sense for the images to be treated the same inside the script and outside ( by default anyway )

Since this script is intended to make things simpler, and since most users don't (want to) know what this orientation stuff is all about, I avoided that behavior on purpose. By default, the script loads all FITS files with the 'normal' orientation used by all amateur image acquisition applications (which is the opposite to the professional orientation used by default in PixInsight). This 'forced setting' prevents a common source of errors (wrongly oriented images, wrong CFA patterns) and makes the whole preprocessing task more consistent.

Hi Therefore my Files should be debayered the same in the script and by the debayer module and they are not  ^-^ I have to uncheck the box to achieve this , opposite to what it should be  >:D

Harry
Harry Page

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #381 on: 2012 May 07 12:40:14 »
Quote
Every time when I run the script, I get the following error: ImageWindow.windowById(): invalid view identifier

This shouldn't happen. The bug must be in either the ImageIntegration or the Debayer process. To understand and fix this problem I need to know:

- The full file names of the files you're working with.
- The filter name(s).

Thanks, and sorry for the inconvenience.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline atheelen

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 7
  • Astronomy is looking up
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #382 on: 2012 May 07 15:05:42 »
There is a bug at line 250 of BatchPreprocessing-helper.js. The line read:
Code: [Select]

      if ( ext != ".fit" && ext != ".$" )

but the calling code in BatchPreprocessing-engine.js around line 385 reads
Code: [Select]

   if ( ext == ".fit" || ext == ".fits" || ext == ".fts" )


The test  at line 250 of BatchPreprocessing-helper.js must accept files with extensions 'fits' and 'fts' also.

The workaround is naturally to rename your files in '.fit'.
Hope this helps

-- bitli

bitli, thanks for this. I tried what you suggested  but unfortunately this did not fix the problem  :sad:


Hi Andrew,

This problem is strange. The FITS header looks correct, and all tests we have made with Maxim DL images have worked fine so far.

We need a sample of your data to understand and fix the problem. It would be great if you could upload a calibration set. Just 3 or 4 light and flat frames for each filter plus 3 bias and 3 darks would suffice. Do you have an Endor file server account?


Juan, yes I have received access to Endor file server. Where on the server do you want me to upload the files to?
regards,
Andrew

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #383 on: 2012 May 07 15:08:24 »
Quote
Where on the server do you want me to upload the files to?

Create a folder on "Forum Shared Files" and upload your files there.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline atheelen

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 7
  • Astronomy is looking up
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #384 on: 2012 May 07 16:38:21 »
Quote
Where on the server do you want me to upload the files to?

Create a folder on "Forum Shared Files" and upload your files there.

hi Juan, I have uploaded a zip file called “atheelen_NGC5128.zip” containing the sample pictures requested into the folder titled “Calibration_Align_Batch_Operations”.

regards,
Andrew

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #385 on: 2012 May 08 11:39:56 »
Hi

So anybody else see what I do  :sad:

Harry


It would make more sense for the images to be treated the same inside the script and outside ( by default anyway )

Since this script is intended to make things simpler, and since most users don't (want to) know what this orientation stuff is all about, I avoided that behavior on purpose. By default, the script loads all FITS files with the 'normal' orientation used by all amateur image acquisition applications (which is the opposite to the professional orientation used by default in PixInsight). This 'forced setting' prevents a common source of errors (wrongly oriented images, wrong CFA patterns) and makes the whole preprocessing task more consistent.

Hi Therefore my Files should be debayered the same in the script and by the debayer module and they are not  ^-^ I have to uncheck the box to achieve this , opposite to what it should be  >:D

Harry
Harry Page

astropixel

  • Guest
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #386 on: 2012 May 08 11:41:27 »
I'm used to be being ignored :o

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #387 on: 2012 May 08 11:43:54 »

Sorry did you say something  >:D :-*

Harry


I'm used to be being ignored :o
Harry Page

Offline erikgu

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #388 on: 2012 May 09 05:36:17 »

Hi !

I dont know if the Preprosessing script is a correct place to put Canon Banding Reduction as an inital and optional prosessing step but could it be ?

I have done this by use of an ImageContainer with the lights and a Process container with CBR, Rotate 90, CBR and the rotate back to initial orientation so its not a big deal, but it could have been nice if it was included in the script as a step before calibration. Default settings could be used in CBR.

Erik G

Offline georg.viehoever

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Master
  • ******
  • Posts: 2132
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #389 on: 2012 May 09 06:24:44 »
Erik,

currently CBR is not suitable for processing RAW frames, so you need to apply it to the calibrated+debayered (and possibly already stacked) frames.  See the following links for some discussions:

http://pixinsight.com/forum/index.php?topic=3522.msg24377#msg24377
http://pixinsight.com/forum/index.php?topic=4214.msg29600#msg29600

Georg
Georg (6 inch Newton, unmodified Canon EOS40D+80D, unguided EQ5 mount)