Author Topic: Calibration and align batch operations  (Read 135818 times)

Offline kerrywaz1

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
    • Spirit Bear Observatory
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #345 on: 2012 April 29 14:14:29 »
I am looking forward to using this script, but I think we need a really good tutorial to get us off the ground (at least I do  :laugh:).

How 'bout it Harry?

 
Deep Sky Instruments RC14C
FLI PL16803 w/MOAG + StarlightXpress Ultrastar
Pyxis 3"
Astro Physics AP1200
Tak FSQ-106EDXII
Apogee Alta F16M
Hap Griffin modified Canon EOS 5D Mark II
PixInsight, MaxIm DL, PhotoShop CS5

Offline Luigi

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #346 on: 2012 April 29 14:36:27 »
Regards,
Luigi Marchesi

astropixel

  • Guest
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #347 on: 2012 April 29 15:22:11 »
Sigh... I have my life back- thank you all... but, I can't find an RGB file after Preprocessing ???

Offline Luigi

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #348 on: 2012 April 29 16:20:40 »
All of the masters for each color are in the 'master' folder; the script does not combine R,G, and B masters into an RGB, if that's what you mean.

In <Output_Directory>/master I have:
light-FILTER_<color>-BINNING_2.fit, for example.
Regards,
Luigi Marchesi

astropixel

  • Guest
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #349 on: 2012 April 30 04:47:42 »
Finger trouble - CFA must be selected for OSC cameras - of course ???

Offline RobF2

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • Rob
    • View Profile
    • Rob's Astropics
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #350 on: 2012 April 30 05:06:23 »
Help - I've been trying to get to know the script with a simple scenario of 5 binned bias, 5 binned darks, a few flats for R,G and B and a few lights for R,G and B.
When the script gets to the "Begin calibration of flat frames" section, it loads the master bias, then the master dark

Then it says "Loading master calibration frames:"
Then "Loading calibration frame image:"  (followed by name of the master bias frame)

Then gives error:
(name of master bias): Multiple images cannont be used as calibration frames



I get this whether I feed in multiple bias frames and let if make a master, OR just select the master the script made previously and tick the "Use Master Bias" and "Use Master Dark" boxes.

Can anyone help shed some light on what I'm doing wring?

It would appear that if "Generate rejection maps" is selected, then bias (and dark) masters are saved as "multiple images" which include not only the integrated master, but ALSO the rejection low and high images.  These multiple image files appear to be incompatable for subsequent calibration however (even trying to use them manually using the Image Calibration process fails with the error I gave above).  By unticking "generate rejection maps" I was back in business.  (After searching the script for the error text I realised it was a PI error, which led me to try manual image calibration....)

This seems to make "Generate rejection maps" a fairly dangerous option however - perhaps the rejection maps could be saved separately somehow, or simply left open on the screen after the script has run? 
FSQ106/8" Newt on NEQ6/HEQ5Pro via EQMOD | QHY9 | Guiding:  ZS80II/QHY5IIL | Canon 450D | DBK21 and other "stuff"
Rob's Astropics

Offline atheelen

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 7
  • Astronomy is looking up
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #351 on: 2012 April 30 08:34:26 »
Wow this is a great script, thanks heaps.  ;D

I have been using it for a few hours and unfortunately I have a few issues that I hope you can resolve for me.

When loading images it does not seem to be reading the FITS header information of the image files.
For example it always loads images under the heading “Binning 1” even though in the FITS header of the image it reads binning 2 under the XBINNING or YBINNING fields. 

Also it never loads my light frames automatically although the FITS image type “IMAGETYP” field is set correctly, value = 'Light Frame'.

Another issue is that after the script has completed I only ever get 1 Master Light named “light-BINNING_1.fit” in the master folder. No others are listed even though I have added light frame images of Red, Green, Blue and Luminance images to compile.

Hope you can point me in the right directing to resolve these issues.
Regards
Andrew
regards,
Andrew

Offline Luigi

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #352 on: 2012 April 30 08:54:51 »
Can you post the FITS header of one of your 'color' frames? What software are you using to capture your images?

The script uses the 'FILTER' keyword for creating the files by color.

I ran this with an assortment of LRGB frames plus bias, dark, and flats and all seemed OK.
Regards,
Luigi Marchesi

Offline atheelen

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 7
  • Astronomy is looking up
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #353 on: 2012 April 30 15:29:28 »
Louis, yes here is the FITS header from one of my Blue images. My capture software is Maxim DL

Regards
Andrew
regards,
Andrew

Offline mmirot

  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #354 on: 2012 April 30 19:41:40 »
Louis, yes here is the FITS header from one of my Blue images. My capture software is Maxim DL

Regards
Andrew

You can alway and the types of images manually. As long as your not mixing bin 2 with bin 1 images, it should be fine. 

MaxIm dl images should be fine. Juan may have a suggestion

Max












Offline atheelen

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 7
  • Astronomy is looking up
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #355 on: 2012 April 30 22:06:14 »
hi Max, yes I can load these manually and have tried this, but I still only get one master light which is always labelled “light-BINNING_1.fit”, even though I have manually loaded red, green blue images to process (all same binning).

I have tried renaming the light frames with the word “light” in the filename, this works and the script will automatically load them. But the script will not load them automatically based solely on the FITS header info.

Also still cannot change the heading “Binning 1” no matter if I have the correct binning in either the FITS header or the filename.
regards,
Andrew

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7096
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #356 on: 2012 May 02 07:36:26 »
Hi Andrew,

This problem is strange. The FITS header looks correct, and all tests we have made with Maxim DL images have worked fine so far.

We need a sample of your data to understand and fix the problem. It would be great if you could upload a calibration set. Just 3 or 4 light and flat frames for each filter plus 3 bias and 3 darks would suffice. Do you have an Endor file server account?
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7096
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #357 on: 2012 May 02 07:41:11 »
Rob,

Quote
Then gives error:
(name of master bias): Multiple images cannont be used as calibration frames

Quote
These multiple image files appear to be incompatable for subsequent calibration however (even trying to use them manually using the Image Calibration process fails with the error I gave above).

This happens because you are using an old version of the ImageCalibration module. You need ImageCalibration version 1.1.2.83, which we released April 29th as an update. Have you applied all the available updates to your PI installation?

With the latest version of ImageCalibration, multiple FITS work without problems.
« Last Edit: 2012 May 02 07:59:48 by Juan Conejero »
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7096
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #358 on: 2012 May 02 07:55:24 »
Quote
1) My 'mix' of lights includes exposures of differing lengths as we have no debloomer  tool >:D

But we have the *only valid* deblooming tool: HDRComposition :)

Quote
If I 'pile' all of the lights into the tool, it creates a single master light frame. Since my intention is to use HDR Composition,  do I just need to run the tool separately for each exposure length for which I want to create a master light?

Yes, since you need a separate master light for each exposure time.

Quote
2) Since I have exposures of different lengths, the script generated dark masters for each of my exposure times. This is not a related to the tool per se, but am I wasting my time capturing these darks of different lengths?

Within reasonable limits, our dark optimization routine allows you to use a single master dark frame for a wide range of exposure times and temperatures. If you can invest that time in acquiring more signal, then my advice is don't waste it in acquiring more darks.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline mmirot

  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #359 on: 2012 May 02 08:53:47 »
Quote
1) My 'mix' of lights includes exposures of differing lengths as we have no debloomer  tool >:D

Within reasonable limits, our dark optimization routine allows you to use a single master dark frame for a wide range of exposure times and temperatures. If you can invest that time in acquiring more signal, then my advice is don't waste it in acquiring more darks.

I have a question.

If I was to process two sets of images simultainously, one set at -30 and another set at -25, would the script be able to choose the best dark master for optimization?

I am adding a dark master at both temps at the same exposure as the lights.

I was thinking there would be some benefit to have a true match in temp since this harder to optimize than just scaling at the same temp.

Perhaps I am wrong.

 How close does the temp and time between the darks and lights be to get the best results?

Max