Author Topic: Calibration and align batch operations  (Read 135702 times)

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #195 on: 2012 March 29 03:19:08 »
The script is still not released and windows xp 32 is not officially supported by PI (so far as I know). So I have only written these vars to the script code. To avoid overloading of the GUI components I have not yet exposed these vars by adding controls. Again I think a 64bit OS will solve the problems.

Hi

This is what I get , these files work in Astro art  >:D

Harry

Looks like no calibration at all. Is it the integration result of the /registered/ folder?

Kai

Hi

Yes they are the rgistered files I was using ?

Harry
Harry Page

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #196 on: 2012 March 29 04:24:17 »
Hi Harry,

This is what I get , these files work in Astro art  >:D

Are you using master calibration frames generated in other applications? In such case they probably won't work with our calibration tools due to incompatible floating point ranges. If you are interested in calibrating your images with PixInsight, then you should generate your master frames with PixInsight.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #197 on: 2012 March 29 05:14:03 »
Hi

I have now tried to create all master in pixinsight and still get the same result ???

I will upload sample if you like


Harry
Harry Page

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #198 on: 2012 March 29 06:38:11 »
Could you upload a calibration set to PI Files?
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline cornyyy

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #199 on: 2012 March 29 08:07:18 »
Hi Kai,
Hi Juan,

thanks for that skript. It worked well for me.
I did the update with the new DSLR-Raw algorhythm to use your new released skript. Unfortunately my calibrated and stacked pics became orange-blue instead of normal colors (see examples attached). I left all the settings untouched and tried the calibration with my M51-frames acquired last week.

So i really need help! Can you tell me something about the problem? How can i fix it or is it possible to undo the update to do the calibration and get results looking similar to my results last week?

THX a lot!
Cornel

PS: I´m using an EOS 20d mod.
« Last Edit: 2012 March 29 08:23:19 by cornyyy »

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #200 on: 2012 March 29 11:09:00 »
Could you upload a calibration set to PI Files?

Hi uploaded for your consideration

Harry
Harry Page

Offline erikgu

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #201 on: 2012 March 29 22:34:36 »

Hi and thanks for the script!

 I tested it on wedensday. Excellent and simple to use, but the result was not as expected.  I got the same orange-blue image as Cornel.  I am using a Canon EOS60d, unmodified. The script was executed with default settings.

My PC didn't start this morning,  >:D so a could not upload the image. I can, if of interrest when the pc is up and running.

Erik G.

Offline vicent_peris

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
    • http://www.astrofoto.es/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #202 on: 2012 March 30 00:17:55 »
Hi Kai,
Hi Juan,

thanks for that skript. It worked well for me.
I did the update with the new DSLR-Raw algorhythm to use your new released skript. Unfortunately my calibrated and stacked pics became orange-blue instead of normal colors (see examples attached). I left all the settings untouched and tried the calibration with my M51-frames acquired last week.

So i really need help! Can you tell me something about the problem? How can i fix it or is it possible to undo the update to do the calibration and get results looking similar to my results last week?

THX a lot!
Cornel

PS: I´m using an EOS 20d mod.


Hi,

Which is the exposure of your flats?

Regards,
Vicent.

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #203 on: 2012 March 30 02:50:43 »
Version 0.4a attached. I have added a 'signed-is-physical' input hint to image calibration, which should make the script compatible with 16-bit signed calibration frames generated by some applications.

Harry, could you please check if the script works now well with your raw data?
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #204 on: 2012 March 30 09:44:19 »
Version 0.4a attached. I have added a 'signed-is-physical' input hint to image calibration, which should make the script compatible with 16-bit signed calibration frames generated by some applications.

Harry, could you please check if the script works now well with your raw data?

Hi Juan

sorry still no luck  :'(

Harry
Harry Page

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #205 on: 2012 March 30 12:57:05 »
Quote
sorry still no luck

The only problem I can figure out with your raw data is signedness of raw frames. The 'signed-is-physical' hint fixes that, so if you still have the same problem after regenerating your master frames with version 0.4a, then I have no idea what's going on. I'd need you to upload several bias, dark and flat frames so I can generate the masters.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #206 on: 2012 March 30 15:04:48 »
Hi

Have uploaded a set of files  :D

There has always been a problem with Astro art files , even with the fits setting altered they sometimes still need rescaling to be displayed properley ?

Harry
Harry Page

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #207 on: 2012 March 31 00:25:48 »
Hi Harry,

Thank you for the calibration files. An additional 'signed-is-physical' hint was missing for the image integration process, which will be added in the next version. However, even with this improvement your calibration files don't work.

The main problem is in the bias frames. Your bias frames have median values of 0.03 on average, while your dark frames have 0.016. So bias frames are about twice stronger than darks in your calibration set. When your master bias is subtracted, it leads to severe clipping that destroys all the calibrated frames. There are no PEDESTAL keywords in your FITS files. A pedestal of about 1400 ADU would be necessary to prevent a massive amount of negative values after bias subtraction, but this is obviously wrong because it would lead to saturation of many bright image structures. Note that normal pedestals are always in the 50 - 200 ADU range, and are only intended to fix relatively small amounts of negative values after bias subtraction. Pedestals are seldom necessary in practice, in fact.

I don't know what happens with your calibration files. If this set is representative of the data you normally acquire, and you get good results consistently with the software that creates them, then there is something it does that we don't know how to do. Our calibration routines are working perfectly with data acquired with the rest of applications, including Maxim DL and Nebulosity. We use our ImageCalibration, ImageIntegration and StarAlignment tools all the time with data acquired with professional telescopes and CCD cameras without any issue. I'll keep trying, but right now I don't have any clue as to what's going on with your data.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #208 on: 2012 March 31 00:41:18 »
Hi

I do see there is little differance between the darks and BIAS ( hence why I do not use darks and why I want to use them for darks and Bias)

Also do not try and optimise the darks ( uncheck box ) this will not destroy the cal frames  :-*

In 16 bit numbers both maxim and Astro art see my bias at about ave of 1060 ?

So what do you think

Harry
Harry Page

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #209 on: 2012 March 31 00:45:43 »
Hi

Just checked the bias and dark in Pixinsight and as you mention it appears the dark and bias differance  is 2 but maxim and astroart do not see this so there must be someway they read the fits differently  :o

Harry
« Last Edit: 2012 March 31 06:13:32 by Harry page »
Harry Page