Author Topic: Calibration and align batch operations  (Read 135686 times)

astropixel

  • Guest
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #135 on: 2012 March 20 04:22:40 »
Great work - this is going to simplify things enormously.

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #136 on: 2012 March 20 05:52:43 »
Hi

Was using masters all ready so missed this  :surprised: , but excellent  ;D

How about a defect map Please  :-*

Harry


Quote
A save masters check box would be good , to save any newley created master bias / darks / flats for future use

Masters are generated during script execution and stored on the 'master' subdirectory of the root output directory.
Harry Page

Offline vicent_peris

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
    • http://www.astrofoto.es/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #137 on: 2012 March 20 06:20:47 »
Hi,
One suggestion: Please verify geometry of ALL the images before start doing anything. For error I selected an incorrect image in the flat frame list and I got this error after integrating all the bias frames. The waiting time of this error could be avoided if the geometry of all the images is checked at the beginning.


Regards,
Vicent.

Offline vicent_peris

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
    • http://www.astrofoto.es/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #138 on: 2012 March 20 06:23:11 »
Hi again,

Could it be possible to process images from different filters at the same time? If so, could it be possible to specify the FITS keyword containing this information?


Regards,
Vicent.

Offline vicent_peris

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
    • http://www.astrofoto.es/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #139 on: 2012 March 20 06:36:35 »
And another suggestion:

Remove the "Calibrate only" checkbox and put three: "Calibrate", "Register" and "Integrate". Along with these checkbox, put options to select the keywords to identify each image.

For instance, you can have images from a lot of filters which are calibrated and registered. With these options we can integrate each image with its corresponding filter. In this case, we would check only "Integrate".

Or you could have a lot of images from different objects which are only calibrated. You check only "Register" and "Integrate" and after the process you would have an image of each object in each filter.


Regards,
Vicent.

Offline Fco. Bosch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #140 on: 2012 March 20 09:35:59 »
I intend to calibrate 5 120" darks, 5 180", 5 300" and 16 600", with the option "calibrate only" enabled. When the sript  has integrate the tree fisrt sets of data, and intend to integrate the last set of 16 darks of 600" it appear in the console "integration pixel number row: 0 -> 1251 : 0%". The programm freezes here and crash,  saying "runtime error ... pixinsight.exe This aplication has requested the runtime to terminate in a unusual way".
Then I should to reinstall the sript. 
This crash happens allways;  nevertheless I can callibrate the last set alone without problem.
Fco. Bosch

Offline Fco. Bosch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #141 on: 2012 March 20 09:50:07 »
Hello:

when the sript (and PI) freezes the console says: "using 1233 concurrentpixel stack(s) = 1023,58 Mg"

I can calibrate the 4 sets of darks with a set of 9 600" images, instead of 16; (when the sript crashes the images are 16).
Is there matter of memory?

Regards
Fco. Bosch

Offline mmirot

  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #142 on: 2012 March 20 09:51:10 »
Hi again,

Could it be possible to process images from different filters at the same time? If so, could it be possible to specify the FITS keyword containing this information?


Regards,
Vicent.

Vincet,

If you use "add files" it should match up calibration images automatically by FITs key words already bin, filter etc.
We even had tested version that was matching a rotation key word ( to match flats with a rotator )

Multiple filters sets should process in parallel ok now.  Not all programs put in the same fits key words thats why there are other boxs to do it maunually. Right now they are using the MaxIm Dl standard.

Max

Offline mmirot

  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #143 on: 2012 March 20 09:58:44 »
Btw, we should also have a manual method to match multilple image sets.
That is,  manually assign filters , bin, exposure etc so the they match up correctly for calibration and can be calibrated/ processed in one sitting.

Max

Offline mmirot

  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #144 on: 2012 March 20 10:16:23 »
Hi again,

Could it be possible to process images from different filters at the same time? If so, could it be possible to specify the FITS keyword containing this information?


Regards,
Vicent.

Vincet,

If you use "add files" it should match up calibration images automatically by FITs key words already bin, filter etc.
We even had tested version that was matching a rotation key word ( to match flats with a rotator )

Multiple filters sets should process in parallel ok now.  Not all programs put in the same fits key words thats why there are other boxs to do it maunually. Right now they are using the MaxIm Dl standard.

Max

Sorry for the misspelling Vicent.

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #145 on: 2012 March 20 13:05:48 »


BTW the bug / problem I had yestersay has gone , good work ;D

Harry
Harry Page

Offline kwiechen

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #146 on: 2012 March 20 13:14:50 »


Quote
1) The script needs all file slots to be filled and a reference image selected. It should be possible to run the script with calibration frames only

The script requires you to specify a registration reference image only if the 'Calibrate only' checkbox is unchecked. If you check it, then no registration reference is (should be) required.

By 'all file slots filled' what do you mean besides the reference image?

I have found this in v02, it works as expected.

Quote
2) The reference image was selectable simply by clicking in the file list in 007h

It is selectable in 0.1, too, by double clicking one of the light frames. A single click is too prone to mistakes IMO, and we probably will implement more functionality associated with clicking frame items on the treebox structures.


This works too, I have overlooked the change.

Quote
3) Checking of the masterframe checkboxes select only the first frame in the list as a master. The script fails therefore to calibrate and align with predefined masters (for example with 4 channels LRGB).

If the L, R, G and B images have the correct filter identified in their FITS headers, there should be no problem. Can you verify this?.


The FITS keywords are not rewritten to the masters in v02 (function() doIntegrate

The last dev version has

*******************

// write FITS header in master frames
        if(result == true)
        {
         var img = ImageWindow.windowById("integration");
         var keywords = LoadFITSKeywords(frameset[0]);

         var postfix = "";
         for(var i = 0; i < keywords.length; i++)
         {
            for(var j = 0; j < FrameType[imagetype].length; ++j)
            {
               if(FrameType[imagetype][j].indexOf(trim(keywords.name)) != -1)
                  postfix += "_" + trim(keywords.name) + "_" + trim(keywords.value);
            }
         }

         img.keywords = keywords;

         path = checkDir(engine.savePath + "/masterframes");
         path = path + '/' + masterframe[imagetype] + postfix + ".fit";

           img.saveAs(path, false, false, false, false);
           img.forceClose();

         engine.addFile(path, true);
        }

*************************

to be able to reuse predefined masters simply by 'File add'

Quote
Of course we have to improve master frame management. How about an option to manually specify a filter for each frame? In this way we'd remove another FITS header dependence, and the script would be more flexible.

In my opinion an excellent option. For the last dev version I have had written a small dialog to add FITS key/values and thus to bypass the FITS header in a flexible way. This was based on sets of FITS keys in the global section ordered by mono/OSC and frame type. I have to clean up this a little bit, but it will be next weekend.


Best,

Kai


Offline sleshin

  • PixInsight Old Hand
  • ****
  • Posts: 431
    • View Profile
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #147 on: 2012 March 20 13:47:00 »
Just got around to downloading and trying the script, Juan's latest update. Works great and is a tremendous addition to PI. Many thanks to Kai and Juan for getting this done.

Steve
Steve Leshin

Stargazer Observatory
Sedona, Arizona

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1457
    • View Profile
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #148 on: 2012 March 20 14:05:11 »
Hi

Often do not use darks , I use a bias the script will not let you select the same bias file for the Bias and dark >:(

Harry
Harry Page

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7089
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #149 on: 2012 March 20 18:21:43 »
New version 0.3 attached:

- New custom frames functionality.

- Improved error management with a cumulative 'error stack'.

- Regression fix: FITS headers are now correctly written to generated master calibration frames.

Stay tuned! :)
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/