Author Topic: Time check happening too early  (Read 2728 times)

Offline David Serrano

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Time check happening too early
« on: 2007 September 05 08:10:37 »
Hi,

I've just found that, when I switched from PI/Windows to PI/Linux, I didn't uninstall the former. I've tried to run it now with the Ctrl key pressed, so I could clean the registry and then delete the folder. But PixInsight decided that I was going to actually use the program ;) and went to check the date and time.

I suggest that the time check be moved after the is-Ctrl-pressed check, so users wanting to uninstall PixInsight (sigh) could clean their registry (or maybe don't do this change to the code, thus punishing those users that want to do bad things :twisted:). Otherwise, they would have to either end up with some useless entries in the registry (doh... they do anyway :^P) or download the current version just to be able to properly uninstall it.

Cheers,
--
 David Serrano

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 6935
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Time check happening too early
« Reply #1 on: 2007 September 05 08:53:46 »
Quote
or maybe don't do this change to the code, thus punishing those users that want to do bad things Twisted Evil


You got it!

Just joking :lol: Seriously, I'll have a look at this. Nevertheless, I'm considering adding a new main menu command to exit the core application erasing the whole settings/registry thing. This sounds cleaner than the Ctrl hack, doesn't it?

Cheers,
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline David Serrano

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Time check happening too early
« Reply #2 on: 2007 September 05 10:09:52 »
Sure. But...

Users that have the "Confirm program termination" checked, will get used to click "Yes" on exit, without thinking. If that new option is directly above of below the existent one, users may delete the registry without wanting so.

I'd allow deleting the registry only via the controle, for example "PixInsight --delete-registry".


[Edited: changed the meaningless "exit --delete-registry" to "PixInsight --delete-registry"]
--
 David Serrano