Author Topic: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?  (Read 625 times)

Offline ftherrmann

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« on: 2019 September 03 10:08:26 »
I'm using the same registration settings in the batchpreprocess and the star alignment tasks.  i.e. Auto, .3 , 12 stars and 1.

The batchpreprocess fails for all perfectly good subs while the star alignment works fine.

Is the batchpreprocess broken or am I missing something?

TIA

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4636
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #1 on: 2019 September 03 12:56:31 »
are you running staralignment manually on the _c_d (or _c) files from BPP?

or are you running SA on the original files from your camera?

rob

Offline ftherrmann

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #2 on: 2019 September 13 22:56:38 »
The batch process used to align subs w/o problem.  Lately it hasn't and I've had to do a calibrate only and then use staralignment to register the calibrated subs.

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4636
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #3 on: 2019 September 14 08:23:05 »
well there's not enough info for anyone to help debug this. i think at a minimum you'd have to find the part of the console log where BPP is trying to run SA and post the first failure message here to have some hope of figuring out what's going on...

rob

Offline ftherrmann

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #4 on: 2019 September 17 09:28:49 »
So what you're saying is what I suspected.  That being that the script is running the same staralignment task that works manually w/o any parameter tweaks.  If what I'm saying is true then this situation is truly weird.   Does the batchscript use the staralignment parameters as is, or does it have a fixed set of parameters?

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4636
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #5 on: 2019 September 17 09:36:52 »
BPP does give the user control over a small subset of the StarAlignment parameters (interpolation mode, clamping threshold, max stars, noise reduction and whether or not to use triangle similarity.) i am not sure if the rest of the StarAlignment parameters are left at default or if BPP overrides the defaults behind the scenes. i'd have to read the source code for BPP and then compare any other settings BPP changes to see if they are the same as the StarAlignment defaults.

at any rate what is the error message in the console when you try to use BPP to register your frames?

rob

Offline ftherrmann

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #6 on: 2019 September 21 10:52:44 »
I don't remember the exact error message, but it's a "No matching stars found" type error.  Which is bizarre given that the subs are calibrated (by BPP) and of high quality.

Offline ftherrmann

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #7 on: 2019 September 21 10:55:26 »
Also wanted to mention that changing the reference image doesn't fix the problem.  Just thought I'd throw that information in in case there might be some unseen peculiarity of a particular reference image.

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4636
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #8 on: 2019 September 21 15:13:16 »
you'd have to upload a subset of your bad frames so that someone can take a look at what's going on.

rob

Offline ftherrmann

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #9 on: 2019 September 24 11:49:34 »
Where do I upload them to?

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4636
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #10 on: 2019 September 24 12:08:07 »
like microsoft onedrive, or google drive, or dropbox, set the files to be publically accessible and then post the link here...

rob

Offline ftherrmann

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #11 on: 2019 September 25 14:12:37 »
Rob,

Here's the link to the dropbox files.  Try to register the 3 blue subs to the Halpha file.  I've included the blue flats and master bias and dark files.  The calibrated blue files are also included in the PI folder that PI tried to register and failed.  BProcess fails each time for me every time even though the subs look clean and register just fine using SAlign.

https://www.dropbox.com/home/Batch%20Fail 

Offline ftherrmann

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #12 on: 2019 September 25 14:19:56 »
Here's the google drive link in case dropbox won't let you in.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1PXznLladDjam5Fw6e-ypJrgwyN-qgp-e 

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4636
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #13 on: 2019 September 25 14:51:36 »
this all worked OK for me, but what i did was load the uncalibrated frames and the master dark. i didn't do anything with the _c or c_cc files that were in the google drive.

can you save the script instance and upload that? i'd like to see exactly what files you're running on and how SA is configured in BPP.

rob

Offline ftherrmann

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Batchpreprocessing registration failures?
« Reply #14 on: 2019 October 01 11:55:31 »
rob,

just uploaded the batch instance (.xpsm) and the script file in text format.  Same location as the other files.  I would use the .cc calibrated files since these are the actual files that fail within the script.  Again, these files register fine using SA.

fred