Author Topic: StarNet - new module for star removal  (Read 12284 times)

Offline mmisiura1

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #30 on: 2019 June 28 23:02:10 »
Hello to all,
I tried again on the I5 processor, and the followoing error appeared.
Any idea? Could someone help me?

   Thanks a lot and best regards,
   Sergio

StarNet: Processing view: NGC7023_1920_1080
Writing swap files...
239.349 MiB/s
Starting star removal procedure...
Stride: 8
Image size: 1080x1920
Number of channels: 3
Color space: RGB
Bits per sample: 16
Has alpha channels: false
Float sample: false
Restoring neural network checkpoint...
 Error: Checkpoint file not found!
Reading swap files...
290.779 MiB/s
<* failed *>


Did you try restarting PI? Try that first.

If it will not work even after that, please go to process console, type 'pwd' command and copy the output here.

Thank you!

Offline mmisiura1

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #31 on: 2019 June 28 23:11:47 »
Sorry, I see I missed quite a bit. For some reason I am no longer getting notifications about new posts in this thread. Thank you all for kind words. Looks like Rob already sorted out most of the issues, but I will make a few remarks:

1. By this moment I am sure that if PI does not list StarNet as a new module in the search window, that means your CPU is not supported and the code will not work anyway.

2. If you installed module, but still getting checkpoint error, try restarting PI. If that still does not help, try opening Process Console and run 'pwd' command. Ideally, that should output PI's bin directory address, in my case its
C:/Program Files/PixInsight/bin
If it outputs something different, then try typing:
cd "C:/Program Files/PixInsight/bin"
Or other path depending on your PI's installation location. And don't forget double quotes here! That should solve the problem, I think. I will try to address this issue in the next version.

3. PI plugin for MacOS is on the way. I am a bit busy right now, but still working on it.

4. I do not recommend changing stride value anymore. Just live it at 128. It is much simpler to correct remaining artifacts in PS. The reason for that is that as you decrease the stride value, artifacts get less notable, yes, but on the other hand you start getting more of them since image is processed in smaller tiles.

Offline astroedo

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Io ne ho viste... cose che voi umani...
    • View Profile
    • L'arciere celeste
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #32 on: 2019 July 02 03:34:51 »
Thank you for the great job.

I have a request if it is not too compicate to do.
At the moment the "create starmask" flag allows to create the starmask when checked OR the starless image if unchecked.

It would be possible having BOTH? the starless image and the starmask image (eventually in a new image)

I know that I can get the same result with PixelMath with the "Normal_IMG-Starless_IMG" expression, but I'm a lazy guy  :D :P

Thank you very much!

Offline dld

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #33 on: 2019 July 02 05:40:08 »
Hello StarNet fans,

If you haven't noticed it, the StarNet module seems to respect masks! Useful when you do want those tiny galaxies in your images!

Offline mmisiura1

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #34 on: 2019 July 02 21:12:44 »
Thank you for the great job.

I have a request if it is not too compicate to do.
At the moment the "create starmask" flag allows to create the starmask when checked OR the starless image if unchecked.

It would be possible having BOTH? the starless image and the starmask image (eventually in a new image)

I know that I can get the same result with PixelMath with the "Normal_IMG-Starless_IMG" expression, but I'm a lazy guy  :D :P

Thank you very much!

That will be implemented for sure in the next release!

Offline mmisiura1

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #35 on: 2019 July 02 21:14:20 »
Hello StarNet fans,

If you haven't noticed it, the StarNet module seems to respect masks! Useful when you do want those tiny galaxies in your images!

I actually didn't have to do anything for that - PI handles masks automatically! 8)

Offline sfacchin

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #36 on: 2019 July 04 12:54:03 »
 Hello mmisiura1,
I restarted several times PI, but not good results. The pwd command response is the following:

pwd
C:/Program Files/PixInsight

   Regardas,
   Sergio

Offline mmisiura1

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #37 on: 2019 July 05 15:17:05 »
Hello mmisiura1,
I restarted several times PI, but not good results. The pwd command response is the following:

pwd
C:/Program Files/PixInsight

   Regardas,
   Sergio


Sergio,

Open the Process Console and paste the following command:

cd "C:/Program Files/PixInsight/bin"

After that, StarNet will work. I will address this issue in the next version.

Offline sfacchin

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #38 on: 2019 July 08 12:32:33 »
 Hello,
now it works! Excellent tool and very useful.

        Thanks for your support and best regards,
         Sergio

Offline mguandalini

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #39 on: 2019 July 11 00:57:50 »
Hi I'm Marco
I have two PC, a latop and desktop
When i install starnet on desktop, i have no problem, PI find a new module without error
On my latop Olivetti i try more time to search a module but PI don't recognise the form, even if the files are copied to the right folder
Please can you help me to solve this problem?
Thanks
Marco

Offline mmisiura1

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #40 on: 2019 July 12 15:58:48 »
Hi I'm Marco
I have two PC, a latop and desktop
When i install starnet on desktop, i have no problem, PI find a new module without error
On my latop Olivetti i try more time to search a module but PI don't recognise the form, even if the files are copied to the right folder
Please can you help me to solve this problem?
Thanks
Marco

Hi, Marco!

That means that the code will not work on your laptop! You can find more details in my posts above in this thread and in the README file distributed with StarNet to get more info on why!

Offline gunny

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #41 on: 2019 July 13 09:10:41 »
  I had great hopes that this module would work.  I tried it on two different computers where I loaded into program files for PI bin and no luck. All files were present as shown in the readme section of the download.  Must be the cpu limitation.  Is there anyway that this can be further refined so that it operates with all cpu's?

Offline mmisiura1

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #42 on: 2019 July 14 16:57:08 »
  I had great hopes that this module would work.  I tried it on two different computers where I loaded into program files for PI bin and no luck. All files were present as shown in the readme section of the download.  Must be the cpu limitation.  Is there anyway that this can be further refined so that it operates with all cpu's?

This "limitation" isn't there for no reason. It's crucial to get decent performance and is very unlikely to go away. Please read README file for more information!

Offline monkeybird747

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #43 on: 2019 July 15 09:46:00 »
I will be anxiously awaiting the Linux version of this tool!

Offline Robert Q. Kimball

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: StarNet - new module for star removal
« Reply #44 on: 2019 July 16 19:54:56 »
Will this work on Mac OS machine?