Author Topic: Resolving M31 Core  (Read 553 times)

Offline wrz0170

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Resolving M31 Core
« on: 2018 October 27 16:10:14 »
Hi everyone,

     I recently imaged M31 for the first time and feel that the core is slightly overblown and not quite enough detail in the dust lanes.  It was imaged in LRGB, 60@ 120” in each channel. About 8 hours. However, with Subframe Selector, I got slightly reduced total number of frames.

Is there anything I can use to bring out the core and maybe tweak some detail in the dust lanes? 

Image here: 05297F2A-089E-4DFD-AC2D-D9B603DFCBD4 by William Zuk, on Flickr


Thank you for looking! 

William

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4374
    • View Profile
Re: Resolving M31 Core
« Reply #1 on: 2018 October 27 20:38:37 »
yes you can try the HDRMultiscaleTransform process to compress the dynamic range of the bright core.

rob

Offline wrz0170

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Resolving M31 Core
« Reply #2 on: 2018 October 28 06:14:44 »
yes you can try the HDRMultiscaleTransform process to compress the dynamic range of the bright core.

rob

Rob,

   Thank you!  Will give it a go.

William

Offline Ron Kramer

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Resolving M31 Core
« Reply #3 on: 2018 November 11 09:14:20 »
your core doesn't look blown out to me. Looks fine.  You won't resolve more detail in it without more scope and more time. That core is a mass of unresolved stars.  HDR multscale will muddy up the core for you but why?  It's not overblown. I'm sure if you check the level of the area it won't be 255.  (let me look) brb  253, 252, 250
right where it should be.

More detail in the dust lanes will require more subs and some sharpening.


Offline monkeybird747

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Resolving M31 Core
« Reply #4 on: 2018 November 12 18:25:22 »
Try the DarkStructureEnhance script for your dust lanes. Default amount is pretty good. Try lowering it to suit taste. Easily overdone.

If you're worried about your core you could do as mentioned above, or shoot some more frames at a much shorter exposure, then use HDRComposition to create a HDR image. Works well.

Offline wrz0170

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Resolving M31 Core
« Reply #5 on: 2018 November 12 19:40:09 »
your core doesn't look blown out to me. Looks fine.  You won't resolve more detail in it without more scope and more time. That core is a mass of unresolved stars.  HDR multscale will muddy up the core for you but why?  It's not overblown. I'm sure if you check the level of the area it won't be 255.  (let me look) brb  253, 252, 250
right where it should be.

More detail in the dust lanes will require more subs and some sharpening.

Thanks for taking a look!   I appreciate it.  Ahh, the devil is in the details I guess.  In this case some more time behind the scope. 

Offline wrz0170

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Resolving M31 Core
« Reply #6 on: 2018 November 12 19:42:22 »
Try the DarkStructureEnhance script for your dust lanes. Default amount is pretty good. Try lowering it to suit taste. Easily overdone.

If you're worried about your core you could do as mentioned above, or shoot some more frames at a much shorter exposure, then use HDRComposition to create a HDR image. Works well.

Yep, I used DSE with the default settings.   I read a little on creating an HDR image. I may try this route the next time around.   Thanks!