Author Topic: SplitCFA "Invalid odd image dimension"  (Read 2526 times)

Offline wkrispler

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
SplitCFA "Invalid odd image dimension"
« on: 2016 November 02 09:20:39 »
Hi,

i am trying to split my raw lights (Canon 1200da) into the color channels with the SplitCFA process.
Unfortunately it delivers an error message "Invalid odd image dimension" - see also screenshot ??

Anybody has an idea?

Thx,
Wolfgang

Offline aworonow

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • Faint Light Photography
Re: SplitCFA "Invalid odd image dimension"
« Reply #1 on: 2016 November 02 11:51:02 »
Have you done ANYTHING to the .CR2 image before the SplitCFA? If so, maybe you altered its dimensions. Open the image in PI and zoom way-way in, center the cursor on the pixel in the lower-right corner--the pixel values (x and y), read by the cursor and rounded up, should be even numbers. If they are not, than the image has been altered or incorrectly transferred from the camera to the computer file. (You can use STF to better view the individual pixels (all of which should be gray...not colored).)

Alex

Offline wkrispler

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: SplitCFA "Invalid odd image dimension"
« Reply #2 on: 2016 November 02 13:40:48 »
Hi Alex,

this is the raw directly from the camera. I have no problems at all with other processes and have createded a lot of other astro images that way.
This is although the first time I want to use the SplitCFA.

I zoomed in to a level of 100:1 and the center of the right bottom pixel is 5201.xx. It is an odd number but I have no clue what this has to do
with this function. It is a Canon 1200da camera and the raw file is .cr2. No altering whatsoever...

Here is the image: https://www.dropbox.com/s/9ngs8jwgylnvdtl/L_9967_ISO1600_900s__17C.xisf?dl=0
Thx,
Wolfgang
« Last Edit: 2016 November 02 13:56:38 by wkrispler »

Offline mschuster

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
    • View Profile
Re: SplitCFA "Invalid odd image dimension"
« Reply #3 on: 2016 November 02 20:07:06 »
SplitCFA requires an even width and height. This is basically a bug, the process wants the image to be made up fully by 2x2 pixel blocks.

Workaround: Run Process > Crop. Change a zero to a one, width-wise and/or height-wise, as necessary. This will enlarge the image with zero pixels and make it even sized.

Save the result and run the script.

Online pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4379
    • View Profile
Re: SplitCFA "Invalid odd image dimension"
« Reply #4 on: 2016 November 02 22:49:30 »
i do wonder though if this has something to do with the way DCRAW is interpreting the CR2 - like an overscan region is getting picked up or something like that. how is DSLR_RAW configured?

rob

Offline wkrispler

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: SplitCFA "Invalid odd image dimension"
« Reply #5 on: 2016 November 02 23:48:17 »
@mschuster, thank you for the workaround.
I changed the odd height from 3465 to 3466 and now it works!

@Rob, I am using the default DSLR_RAW settings as attached.

It is strange that the Process only works with even image dimensions. Many other DSLR users must have the same problem....

Thank you for your help.

Wolfgang

Online pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4379
    • View Profile
Re: SplitCFA "Invalid odd image dimension"
« Reply #6 on: 2016 November 03 08:40:54 »
perhaps try checking "no image crop" and see if the dimensions become even?

rob

Offline M Covington

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: SplitCFA "Invalid odd image dimension"
« Reply #7 on: 2018 March 05 21:28:39 »
I would like to see this bug fixed, as it is an obstacle to narrowband work with the Canon 60Da -- when using a deep red filter I only want the red pixels.