Author Topic: Blink Tool Behavior  (Read 238 times)

Offline mike@mulcahys.us

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Blink Tool Behavior
« on: 2019 November 08 08:48:40 »
After moving a file to a rejected folder the file name stays in the blink list.  Why is this?  It would seem that if the file is removed it should not remain in the list.  You can rerun the tool and the file is gone but should this be necessary?

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7028
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Blink Tool Behavior
« Reply #1 on: 2019 November 08 09:39:49 »
The Blink tool does not monitor the file system to verify if the selected files have been modified or removed. This is out of scope for all tools in PixInsight. File lists are process parameters (e.g. those of ImageCalibration, StarAlignment, Blink, etc) that cannot be modified as a result of external system actions.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Online pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4634
    • View Profile
Re: Blink Tool Behavior
« Reply #2 on: 2019 November 08 10:00:50 »
but if you move the file with blink itself, surely blink knows that it has been moved.

understood that blink doesn't know why you moved the file but 99% of the time the use case is to move a bad file into some subdirectory. or at least that's how i use it.

rob

Offline mike@mulcahys.us

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Blink Tool Behavior
« Reply #3 on: 2019 November 08 10:03:59 »
It doesn't seem like this is an external action since it was initiated from within the blink tool.  It would seem to be easy to remove it from the list and make the tool more useful.

Offline ngc1535

  • PixInsight Old Hand
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
    • View Profile
Re: Blink Tool Behavior
« Reply #4 on: 2019 November 08 11:01:15 »
Yes, this has always been a two step process. Move the file and then remove from the blink list (in memory).
I am not certain in what situation you identify an image (file) you want to move to another directory (being bad or different in some way) and not also remove it from the memory of the blink list.
I have gotten used to it.. but I personally would enjoy this process being a single click (move to directory and remove from list).

Having Blink move files on disk is VERY good and this is a great thing that really improves the user experience.
-adam

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7028
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Blink Tool Behavior
« Reply #5 on: 2019 November 08 11:22:16 »
Sorry, I didn't understand your request. I interpreted that you were referring to files moved or deleted outside of the Blink tool.

If Blink is not removing from its own list a file it has already moved as a result of user interaction, then this is actually a bug. I'll investigate this and will release an update as appropriate. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline mike@mulcahys.us

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Blink Tool Behavior
« Reply #6 on: 2019 November 08 11:33:28 »
Thank you Juan.