Author Topic: Subframe Selector PCL Module  (Read 16624 times)

Offline frant

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #15 on: 2017 November 18 00:44:03 »
Fantastic work Cameron, really appreciate your hard work on this.

I think may have found a small issue. When outputting approved subs, the FITS Keyword is not written into whichever is the last/bottom sub in the Measurements Table list. It does seem to be related to whichever is the last sub in the list, as when I reorder the list on a different metric (for example Weight, or FWHM) and therefore change which is the last in the table, then that sub becomes the one that doesn't get the Keyword written in the output file.

Thank again, a great addition to the PixInsight toolbox  :)

Offline cameronleger

  • PTeam Member
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #16 on: 2017 November 19 09:30:20 »
I appreciate all your feedback. I'm not ready to provide a new build yet, but I hope to very soon.

Shane,
I've got the Median, Min, and Max special variables working. It offered me a great chance to refactor how some of that was working into much simpler code.

dld & Vicent,
I've got a histogram working and am working on a cumulative function. I feel that the Empirical Distribution Function makes the most sense given that we have the empirical data, but I've hit a hurdle. I want to show both of these on the same distribution-related graph to save space and since they're strongly related, but this graphing library prefers multiple series to have the same independent axis. As such, a cumulative histogram seems attractive, except that it would limit the 'resolution' of the cumulative function to the number of bins used in the histogram.

An alternative could be to 'zip' the two series together and provide 'blanks' where either series does not align with the other, it just seems difficult when comparing floating-point numbers and they may not align nicely. Thoughts? I'm just looking for a value or priority on the solutions to compare complexity/benefit of them.

Edit: I've got the union working properly, so an EDF + Histogram is going well.

Frant,
Thank you for finding that. I'll definitely look into it. I already found another critical bug where a memory leak could happen during the exports. It's in the PCL repository, so if this is released by PTeam before my next update you'll have it then.
« Last Edit: 2017 November 19 17:53:05 by cameronleger »

Offline kor

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • Shane's Astrophotos
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #17 on: 2017 November 19 13:16:33 »
Great Cameron!  I look forward to the release.  (I've got a large subframe set I'll test it with!)

- Shane

Offline cameronleger

  • PTeam Member
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #18 on: 2017 November 20 16:45:00 »
Fantastic work Cameron, really appreciate your hard work on this.

I think may have found a small issue. When outputting approved subs, the FITS Keyword is not written into whichever is the last/bottom sub in the Measurements Table list. It does seem to be related to whichever is the last sub in the list, as when I reorder the list on a different metric (for example Weight, or FWHM) and therefore change which is the last in the table, then that sub becomes the one that doesn't get the Keyword written in the output file.

Thank again, a great addition to the PixInsight toolbox  :)

Hey frant,
Unfortunately, I don't have a clue as to why this is happening and I haven't been able to reproduce this. I looked at files generated by earlier and current versions of this module and I did not see this happening between batches of 4 - 300. It's confusing because the output routine loops the 'base' set of measured subframes and not the 'sorted' set that's generated for the table view, so I'm not sure how they could be affecting each other. I was checking the output files by opening them and looking at the 'FITS Header' menu entry under the 'File' menu. Do you have any more hints?

Offline frant

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #19 on: 2017 November 21 11:04:40 »
Hey frant,
Unfortunately, I don't have a clue as to why this is happening and I haven't been able to reproduce this. I looked at files generated by earlier and current versions of this module and I did not see this happening between batches of 4 - 300. It's confusing because the output routine loops the 'base' set of measured subframes and not the 'sorted' set that's generated for the table view, so I'm not sure how they could be affecting each other. I was checking the output files by opening them and looking at the 'FITS Header' menu entry under the 'File' menu. Do you have any more hints?

I don't at the moment, but I'll be using it again this evening, so I'll see if I can come up with a reproducible test case.

Offline cameronleger

  • PTeam Member
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #20 on: 2017 November 22 06:38:01 »
Based on your feedback and more usage on my part, I have a new update ready for release. I've updated the original post and I'll include a link here too for simplicity: https://github.com/cameronleger/PCL/releases/tag/01.03.01.0003

Offline frant

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #21 on: 2017 November 22 11:30:33 »
I'll see if I can come up with a reproducible test case.

Well I couldn't :)
That is to say, I used the tool 4 times during the integration of L,R,G and B subs and it worked flawlessly each time, it just isn't doing it now.
I'm a bit puzzled as to what I was doing wrong before, but happy to say it was probably finger trouble on my part, rather than a bug.
Just installed the new version too, keep up the great work.

Cheers,
Richard

Online dld

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #22 on: 2017 November 22 13:47:15 »
Fantastic! I just noticed that the measurements are cached! No more anxiety on loosing the measurements by accidentally pushing the wrong button (been there, done that, several times in the past...) Thanks again Cameron!

Offline kor

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • Shane's Astrophotos
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #23 on: 2017 November 22 18:08:26 »
Way Cool, Cameron!

You just reduced my workload and shortened by processing time even further!  The Min/Max stuff works great.  The number of files accepted is very useful.  The histogram adds yet another important visualization of the quality of the entire subframe set.  And the cache--yet another time saver when I've already measured 130 frames and have five more to add!

One more (very simple) suggestion:  Add the index number to the black rectangle on the graph hover.  Some of us end up with quite a few subframes and it's difficult to tell which one the hightlighted dot and hover information represents.

Thanks again for your great tool - Shane

Offline jshortt

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #24 on: 2017 November 25 12:11:58 »
Hi, I'm working on a project with about 250 subs that I'd like to check this out on. I can download it from GitHub but I don't know how to install it into my PI setup. Can anyone provide me with a quick set of instructions?

Update: I think I've figured it out. There's an item under the Process menu to install a new module

John
« Last Edit: 2017 November 25 12:24:42 by jshortt »

Offline tdgm

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 265
    • View Profile
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #25 on: 2017 November 25 20:41:30 »
Hi

Just installed the new SFS Module and have been looking at it everything seems to work (Mac running High Sierra) but I can't get a probability graph /histogram to come up. Is that agraph with the Mac or am I missing something.


Thanks for the new module

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4171
    • View Profile
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #26 on: 2017 November 25 20:58:23 »
it could be that i need to rebuild it? i just did git pull and i can see a lot of changes, though the tag seems to be the same (1.03.01.0003)

rob

Offline cameronleger

  • PTeam Member
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #27 on: 2017 November 26 18:29:43 »
Rob, can you rebuild it? Your original build was against 01.01.01.0001, and I updated the link in the original post to point to the latest except for the OS X version.

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4171
    • View Profile
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #28 on: 2017 November 26 19:33:37 »
ok will do

rob

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4171
    • View Profile
Re: Subframe Selector PCL Module
« Reply #29 on: 2017 November 26 20:17:59 »
ok here is a new build for osx...

https://goo.gl/X3c9Wc

i noticed a couple of things:

1) when double-clicking a point in the graph, the viewport containing the file list does not always scroll properly to reveal the file in the list. i was not able to detect a pattern. this happened in the previous version as well...
2) if i right-click the graph pane, i get a contextual menu. one of the options is "view source". if i select this i get a dialog that the process segfaulted and from that point on the graph pane no longer works. not sure how to fix it without restarting PI.

rob