Author Topic: FastRotation error  (Read 848 times)

Offline Corries

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
FastRotation error
« on: 2017 October 11 22:58:39 »
Can anyone please help?

Recently, when I used the FastRotation tool I came up with the following error:

The image contains an astrometric solution that will be deleted by the geometric transformation.

This side effect could be irreversible.  Proceed?

Can anyone explain what this error means and what are the potential consequences?

Many thanks, Terry.

Offline chris.bailey

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: FastRotation error
« Reply #1 on: 2017 October 11 23:44:42 »
Terry

This suggests the image has at some point in the process been plate solved so contains WCS information in the fits header. Photometric Colour Calibration?

Carrying out any sort of geometric operations on the image (crop, rotate) makes the WCS information invalid so it is deleted.

It is harmless but if you need to have the WCS information back again you will need to run the ImageSolver script on the cropped/rotated image to put it back again.

Chris

Offline Corries

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: FastRotation error
« Reply #2 on: 2017 October 13 19:32:43 »
Hi Chris,

Thanks for the reply.  However, I have never used a plate solving process.  It must be one of life's great mysteries. 

I carried on with my processing and it didn't affect anything so I'll pretend it didn't happen and hope it never occurs again.

Terry.

Online pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4621
    • View Profile
Re: FastRotation error
« Reply #3 on: 2017 October 13 20:44:00 »
if it was a single frame, it's possible that your capture software had inserted an astrometric solution into the fits header either by copying the mount coordinates to the image, or by platesolving it at the time of capture.

rob

Offline Corries

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: FastRotation error
« Reply #4 on: 2017 October 16 03:08:53 »
Hi Rob,

Thanks for the reply.  I use Sequence Generator Pro for my camera control and data acquisition.  Is it possible that this software is inserting this type of information into the file header?

Many thanks, Terry.

Online pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4621
    • View Profile
Re: FastRotation error
« Reply #5 on: 2017 October 16 08:56:43 »
i think it's likely that SGP will write this info to the fits header. it most definitely does if you are using PS2 or Astrometry.net to center your targets. since it is connected to the mount, even in the absence of plate solving it could still be writing the reported mount coordinates to the fits header, but since i always use plate solving i'm not sure if it does this.

rob

Offline Corries

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: FastRotation error
« Reply #6 on: 2017 October 17 20:25:42 »
Thanks, Rob, your explanations have been a great help.

Terry.