Author Topic: Display too Large after Reinstall  (Read 2340 times)

Offline jerryyyyy

  • PixInsight Old Hand
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • View Profile
    • Astrobin Images
Display too Large after Reinstall
« on: 2016 July 09 07:31:05 »
Not sure what went on after I went to a replacement computer but when I start PI the flash screen comes up and takes up half the 2500x1800 screen and when the application comes up, all the fonts and windows are very large????  If no answers guess I reinstall. 
Takahashi 180ED
Astrophysics Mach1
SBIG STT-8300M and Nikon D800
PixInsight Maxim DL 6 CCDComander TheSkyX FocusMax

Offline msmythers

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
    • View Profile
    • astrobin
Re: Display too Large after Reinstall
« Reply #1 on: 2016 July 09 08:40:29 »
jerryyyyy

I think more information is going to be needed. Brand of computer, laptop/desktop, OS and true resolution of the monitor. Maybe something like are you using any scaling factors for the screen in the OS. I'm going to guess you are using a Mac of some flavor because the 2500x1800 seems like a strange resolution.

Hopefully this will help to diagnose your issue.


Mike

Oh yeah just to let you know my settings
Windows 7
Monitor 2560x1440
OS screen resolution 2560x1440
OS scaling 100 percent

PI Core UI Resources:
Automatic UI Scaling
Font Resolution 100dpi

Offline jerryyyyy

  • PixInsight Old Hand
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • View Profile
    • Astrobin Images
Re: Display too Large after Reinstall
« Reply #2 on: 2016 July 09 10:00:49 »
This is a Dell M3800 precision workstation laptop.  Windows 10.  2560 x 1600 on the attached monitor.  The laptop itself is 3200x1800.  But it seems funny on both.  Flash screen just shows up very large and all windows large.  I think I better re-install. 

Did reinstall and same issue.  Wonder if there is some setting I inadvertently hit. 
« Last Edit: 2016 July 09 10:32:41 by jerryyyyy »
Takahashi 180ED
Astrophysics Mach1
SBIG STT-8300M and Nikon D800
PixInsight Maxim DL 6 CCDComander TheSkyX FocusMax

Offline jerryyyyy

  • PixInsight Old Hand
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • View Profile
    • Astrobin Images
Re: Display too Large after Reinstall
« Reply #3 on: 2016 July 09 12:01:42 »
I opened on old project and it all looked correct.  They I closed it and it was back to the wrong sizing.  Are there any settings folders anywhere I can eliminate?
Takahashi 180ED
Astrophysics Mach1
SBIG STT-8300M and Nikon D800
PixInsight Maxim DL 6 CCDComander TheSkyX FocusMax

Offline msmythers

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
    • View Profile
    • astrobin
Re: Display too Large after Reinstall
« Reply #4 on: 2016 July 09 13:31:04 »
jerryyyyy

There was a posting within the last 2 months with a similar problem if not identical problem. I don't remember if it was in the general section or bugs. There was also something about maybe the touch screen had something to do with the problem, maybe????? I just don't remember exactly. I know Juan was involved in the posting.


Mike

Offline jerryyyyy

  • PixInsight Old Hand
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • View Profile
    • Astrobin Images
Re: Display too Large after Reinstall
« Reply #5 on: 2016 July 09 15:34:14 »
I did a search and pfile I think responded to the problem at the time.  I sent him a PM.  Supposedly was a bug.  Does not seem to assess screen size in the start up script.  I used to see the screen size scroll by in the start up but do not see it now.  If it cannot get screen size I guess it defaults to a safe number. 

I have had to reinstall W10 on a number of machines at work and nothing but trouble. 
Takahashi 180ED
Astrophysics Mach1
SBIG STT-8300M and Nikon D800
PixInsight Maxim DL 6 CCDComander TheSkyX FocusMax

Offline jerryyyyy

  • PixInsight Old Hand
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • View Profile
    • Astrobin Images
Re: Display too Large after Reinstall
« Reply #6 on: 2016 July 10 16:56:23 »
For the record, the problem was resolved when I stopped two displays and just used one.  I had two rather high pixel count displays connected... my laptop M3800 and another monitor.  Turning off the laptop display and just using the monitor allowed the monitor to display Pi correctly. 
Takahashi 180ED
Astrophysics Mach1
SBIG STT-8300M and Nikon D800
PixInsight Maxim DL 6 CCDComander TheSkyX FocusMax

Offline msmythers

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
    • View Profile
    • astrobin
Re: Display too Large after Reinstall
« Reply #7 on: 2016 July 10 17:35:33 »
jerryyyyy

Thanks for letting us know.


Mike

Offline jerryyyyy

  • PixInsight Old Hand
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • View Profile
    • Astrobin Images
Re: Display too Large after Reinstall
« Reply #8 on: 2016 July 10 23:02:39 »
5760x1600 was the combined screen size that caused the error.  I think this is because I extended across two hi-resolution screens.... there is probably a limit in the code that might get tweeked here. 
Takahashi 180ED
Astrophysics Mach1
SBIG STT-8300M and Nikon D800
PixInsight Maxim DL 6 CCDComander TheSkyX FocusMax

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7018
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Display too Large after Reinstall
« Reply #9 on: 2016 July 11 03:02:54 »
Combinations of high-dpi and normal density monitors are not supported by current PixInsight versions. In these cases, the primary system monitor defines the behavior of the PixInsight Core application:

(a) If the primary monitor is high-dpi, then PixInsight will apply a scaling factor > 1 to its entire user interface. In this case, anything shown on the secondary monitor will be too large.

(b) If the primary monitor is normal dpi, then PixInsight will apply a scaling factor = 1. Anything shown on the secondary monitor will be too small.

With multiple monitors, all monitors should have the same density, and ideally they should be also of the same dimensions in pixels.

This should be described in the System Requirements page; I'm going to add this information ASAP.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline jerryyyyy

  • PixInsight Old Hand
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
    • View Profile
    • Astrobin Images
Re: Display too Large after Reinstall
« Reply #10 on: 2016 July 23 18:44:09 »
Combinations of high-dpi and normal density monitors are not supported by current PixInsight versions. In these cases, the primary system monitor defines the behavior of the PixInsight Core application:

(a) If the primary monitor is high-dpi, then PixInsight will apply a scaling factor > 1 to its entire user interface. In this case, anything shown on the secondary monitor will be too large.

(b) If the primary monitor is normal dpi, then PixInsight will apply a scaling factor = 1. Anything shown on the secondary monitor will be too small.

With multiple monitors, all monitors should have the same density, and ideally they should be also of the same dimensions in pixels.

This should be described in the System Requirements page; I'm going to add this information ASAP.

Hi,
Thanks for the comment.  I am reliving this issue again on travel.  My Dell M3800 Precision Workstation Laptop has a display of 3200x1800 and it alone will not display properly.  I tried several lower resolutions on my display settings and I still got too large scaling.  Works fine attached to larger monitors.

>>>>>>>>>>>>Your system requirements:

Important: We do not guarantee the correct behavior of our graphical user interface on screen resolutions smaller than 1920×1080. Note that this refers to logical resolutions, not physical (for example, a Retina display with 2880×1800 native resolution has 1440×900 logical pixels). The application will run on smaller resolutions, but you may need to perform manual adjustments such as closing control bars and explorer windows, or changing automatic high-dpi screen and font management settings. Even with manual tuning, PixInsight has not been designed specifically to work on very small screens.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

So my logical resolution of 1600x900 is not supported? 

Seems like it should be for a $3000 laptop? 

I can find no manual setting to make it work. 

This all worked until about a month ago.  I think there were changes in the code base somewhere.

I have a Dell M5510 on order and it looks like it will support your minimal standards.  I'll have to hand this one down I guess. 

JY
« Last Edit: 2016 July 24 07:55:17 by jerryyyyy »
Takahashi 180ED
Astrophysics Mach1
SBIG STT-8300M and Nikon D800
PixInsight Maxim DL 6 CCDComander TheSkyX FocusMax