WBPP latest build possible memory Leak ?

Al Ros

Hi

I have been using WPBB with great success. but recently in running larger data sets (1000 subframes), the process initially bogs down at image integration (ie running for 24hrs when image integration done manually on the WPBB registered images only takes 3 hours. I have an windows 10 i7 (4 years old) 32 gig ram, and two fast solid state drives for cache.

yesterday, the process process crashed the computer and low resources were mention. Not sure if anyone else has experienced this. This is my first time using large sub frame sets of over 1000 images

Also if I rerun the WBPP process, in contrast to a video by Adm Block, WPBB does not recognize that the initial steps were completed and appears to restart all the calibration set rather than jump to the uncomplete integration

best wishes
Al

Hi @Al Ros,
You probably encountered a memory exhaustion problem. When a process runs out of all available memory (RAM + Virtual), the OS kills it.
What you can do is increase the virtual memory handled by your OS; there are several guides around to do that.

Regarding WBPP not tracking its execution once PI has been killed, I will integrate some strategy to incrementally track the execution and update the cache while running. This will allow you to skip the steps that were executed successfully.

Robyx

Thanks so Much Robyx ! will try your tips and thank you for considering incrementally tracking WBPP completed steps

best wishes
Al

Thanks @robyx, I'm also running into this (was trying a dataset of 2330 images, looks like 64GB of RAM isn't enough after it failed 7 hours in, not sure 128GB would be enough either). Being able to pick up where it left off would be great once I figure out where I need to be memory wise. If we were to do the integration manually, what keyword is used for the weighting? I also noticed it still tries to do the drizzle integration even if the regular integration failed.