WBPP Cosmetic Correction workflow help please

maxchess42

I am relatively new to Pixinsight and I am now trying to expand my cooled OSC workflow.
I want to use Cosmetic Correction with WBPP 2. I understand that CC must be used with calibrated images, but starting with a new set of lights I will not have these until I run WBPP. So I assume I need to do do two runs as follows:
-Standard run of WBPP to produced calibrated images
-Run CC on calibrated images and save process icon with desired setting.
-Run WBPP again using using Process Icon which will perform CC in the right place.

I assume that from then on I can use the same Process Icon with future images with the same sensor and duration.

Is this correct or am I missing something?
Should I redo the CC Process at intervals, ie will my sensor change?
Is CC worth doing with an OSC if I have 50 darks in my master (ie why doesn't the dark master remove Hot/Cold pixels?)

Thanks, Max

You are indeed missing something (but don't worry, you are not the first to miss this)!
If you look on the "Lights" tab of WBPP2, you will find a "Cosmetic Correction" panel:
1622203888787.png

To use this you must first run the CosmeticCorrection process, and set it up with the settings you want. I recommend the following:
1622204039493.png

Note: CFA checked; "Use Auto detect" checked; "Hot Sigma" checked and set to 3.0 (a good starting value - you can play with this). Everything else left blank.
Then drag the instance icon (blue triangle) to the desktop to create a process icon, which it would be sensible to rename (I called it ccCFA).
You need to do this before running WBPP, so the icon is ready on the desktop to be entered in the WBPP CC panel.
Then run WBPP, and the CC is done automatically at the appropriate point in the workflow.

Thanks for that, I think my confusion comes from two different ways of using Cosmetic Correction. Again please correct me if this is wrong.