StarNet - CTD / BSOD

aclark2

Hi, I'm relatively new to PI, my first attempts at using StarNet resulting in some serious crashes. About 10% of the times I use it seems to work, of the other 90%, 20% result in PI disappearing and crashing to desktop, the other 80% more worryingly result in a BSOD, inconsistent error reports suggest memory corruption.

I installed the standalone StarNet++ and successfully used that on the same image without issues.

The settings used for StarNet were defaults.

Process involved pretty standard stacking to a master light image and attempting to apply StarNet.

Any advice on what I can do to help diagnose appreciated.

Andy.

PixInsight Version : 1.8.8-7 Ripley (x64) (2020-12-17)
My System Spec in attached DxDaig info.

Attachments

• DxDiag.txt
    112.8 KB · Views: 69
Last edited:
is the stride parameter the same between the PI version and the command line version?

rob

is the stride parameter the same between the PI version and the command line version?

rob

I've tested both with strides of 64 and 128, the stand alone StarNet++ appears to work without issue in both cases, the StarNet module within PI so far has only crashed when using the default of 128 in my test cases, I've not performed many runs at 64.

i think the smaller strides require more memory but i could be wrong about that. i was thinking maybe the greater memory pressure could be exposing problems with your RAM. but it is just a theory. the PI starnet module is just a wrapper around the call to tensorflow so the actual work of removing stars done by both the standalone and the PI module is the same.

i think the smaller strides require more memory but i could be wrong about that. i was thinking maybe the greater memory pressure could be exposing problems with your RAM. but it is just a theory. the PI starnet module is just a wrapper around the call to tensorflow so the actual work of removing stars done by both the standalone and the PI module is the same.