StarNet ++ and Windows 10

Carl O Beirnes

Hi all,

Forgive me is this was already posted somewhere. I'm just wondering could anyone could help me on how to install StarNet++ onto PI. I'm using a windows 10 PC i'm very new to PI and haven't a clue where to start. Thanks for any advice and help.

Clear Skies,

Carl.

Download the relevant installation files from here, which includes installation instructions:

Starnet DOES NOT remove stars, it removes bright pixels from the image without any care
are these small galaxies, asteroids etc. Starnet does not access the Gaia catalogue to distinguish
between stars and other objects. The only tool to create a "real starmask" out of the GAIA catalogue is
the script "MaskGen" in PixInsight. Everything else (including PI Starmask tool) is simply destroying every small bright object.
So be careful when using the so called Starnet, especially in areas where hundreds of small PGC Galaxies are in,
they will be erased. So Starnet should be better called
"bright pixel removal tool".

Gerald

the neural net was trained on starless images and their corresponding star-ful images. while of course this can result in false positives depending on how high-quality the starless images were, i think to characterize it as a "bright pixel removal tool" is completely unfair.

it will certainly mistake some small, faint galaxies for stars, but there's nothing in the code per-se that looks for bright pixels. it's trying to recognize star-like objects and inpaint them.

the neural net was trained on starless images and their corresponding star-ful images. while of course this can result in false positives depending on how high-quality the starless images were, i think to characterize it as a "bright pixel removal tool" is completely unfair.

it will certainly mistake some small, faint galaxies for stars, but there's nothing in the code per-se that looks for bright pixels. it's trying to recognize star-like objects and inpaint them.