Red noise in image - any way to get rid of it

mspruce

Hi all!

I'm new to Pixinsight but I have already done a couple of images with my Atik 314L+ and am blown away by what I can do. Needless to say I'm sold on it.

However I have a problem that I have been unable to solve. I decided in a moment of madness to try me DSLR and do a couple of OSC images with it. However once I had processed them to generate the initial integrated image to begin cleaning up, stretching, etc. I found that there was what looked like concentric red circles in the image. I have tried using several techniques to try to mask it out  and stretch the object I want to make it more visible and keep the red circles down and had some success, but not enought. I wondered if anyone had any suggestions, techniques, etc. that I could use to eliminate it better or completely. Also does anyone have any clue as to what may be causing the effect? I took two objects that night and they both have the same pattern. I'm not using an LP filter but I would have expected LP to be more even across the image.

I have attached a jpg (stretched to show it all up) of the initial image before cleaning up if you want the un-stretched xisf file to have a play with then just shout.

Many thanks for your help

Attachments

• M42 red noise.jpg
    M42 red noise.jpg
    378.1 KB · Views: 151
Hi!

Those look like they may be internal reflections?  Did you flat calibrate the images?  Did you use DBE during the processing prior to stretching?

-C

Hi, Yes I did use DBE I tried both subtraction and division. Division does a slightly better job but washes the colour out of the nebulosity more. Neither get rid of the issue completely although I have not really played with the settings that much. Do you think that DBE should be able to get rid of most of this problem if I have a play with the settings. If so any clues what may help?