New artifact with new camera

Aaron Linderbaum

I have been using the Altair 269 camera for about 7 months or so and just recently (last 3 weeks & 2 imaging sessions) have noticed a vertical line artifact that I have never noticed before. From what I have read, this is from a camera problem but I am not sure if this is correct.

Below is a link with stacked lights and darks from sessions from 2 consecutive nights (Leo Triplet and M 81). I also included a stacked image of NGC 2264 from a month or so ago.

A few questions: 1) is this artifact a result of a defect in the camera or do all cameras have this issue? I have had a couple of issue with the Altair camera and am wondering if I just have a low quality Altair camera.
2) Why does this line show up in some master darks and not in others? I have used the same master dark on multiple sets of images and it does not seem to be in the final stacked set all the time.
3) Why, when using the same master dark, does the line show up in one stacked set of lights and not in others? Why is it inconsistent?
3) Is this a concern long term?

I guess I am trying to determine if my camera is faulty and should be replaced since it is less than a year old. Or, am I doing something to cause this to present itself on occasion?

Thank you in advance for any insight - I am most grateful!!

Aaron

while this type of column defect is relatively common on CCD chips, and can be caused by cosmic ray hits, i'm not sure if the same holds true for CMOS sensors. it's probably worth asking Altair if column defects like this are expected.

as for the variability, i'm not sure if that's because these things fail softly and slowly get worse, or for some other reason. one thing is the IMX269 has quite a number of readout speeds and modes and it might be interesting to vary those and see if the problem goes away. i'm not sure if all those modes are exposed in the Altair driver though.