New Algorithms for DBE

frasax

Hello,

this is not so much a feature request but rather a cue to some interesting algorithms that could be used to improve the DBE calculations.
In an open source project that I am involved with (have to say I am not a programmer) we used beside spline algorithms such as RBF and Kriging to calculate the background models. Especially the RBF (Radial Basis Function) leads to very good and fast results. Kriging is superior in some special cases.

This is the link to our open source project. We would be very glad if the programmers of PixInsight would consider to use those algorithms in DBE or ABE. Problem might be that all the packages we used are coded in Python. But the RBF algorithm was already transferred to C in another image processing software.

For more Infos on RBF see

For more Infos on kriging see

CS Frank

Hi Frank,

Thank you for the suggestion. We already have several radial basis functions implemented in our code base (variable order, thin plate spline, Gaussian, multiquadric, etc), along with the associated surface interpolation algorithms. The thin plate spline is just a particular case of RBF with remarkably good properties, which we use for many applications in PixInsight, including astrometric solutions, image registration (both tasks with arbitrary distortion support) and background model generation, among many others. The current DBE tool was tagged as obsolete several years ago. A completely new tool (DynamicBackground, DB) is already in the design phase and will be implemented as soon as possible; unfortunately, I have been forced to postpone it in several occasions because of other high priority tasks. I already know kriging and would like to implement it in the future, time permitting (time and human resources are always the main limiting factors for us).