Is it OK to modify the BPP script?

ste7e

Hi

I've made some changes to the BatchPreprocessing script so that rather than having image integration parameters on the Lights page, it has a set of three template drop-downs - much like the selection for Cosmetic Correction in BPP.  These are for: Local Normilization, ImageIntegration and DrizzleIntegration.

This allows me to automate the process through to drizzle-integration using the local normalization process.

Now, to my questions:  Is it bad behaviour for me to do this?  Or, maybe it's encouraged for people to take existing scripts and modify them for their own purposes?  Is this a mod that others may want to make use of?  If so, is there a process to allow me to share my mods?

As an astrophotographer I love PI and, as a developer, I also love they way its designed as a platform allowing extensions to be built-on.

Steve

there is a github repository for PI, i think if you contact juan he can give you the details...

http://pixinsight.com/developer/pjsr/

rob

You can modify it as you like, but you must comply with the license of the script that it is at the beginning of the file.

Andr?s.

Hi Steve,

As an astrophotographer I love PI and, as a developer, I also love they way its designed as a platform allowing extensions to be built-on.

That's fantastic! Everybody is always welcome to contribute with new and modified code to PixInsight. That's why PixInsight is actually a software development platform instead of a regular application. As Rob and Andr?s have said, the correct route for all contributions is our open-source GitHub repositories:

https://github.com/PixInsight

Of course you can modify any script, as long as you comply with its software license, and use the modified version for your own purposes. As for modifying the BPP script for general use, just a couple of notes: