Flatfield calibration fails in image calibration but not in pixel math

kupezi

Hello,
my name ins Kurt-Peter and I am new to this forum. I’ve been using Pixinsight for quite a few years now and updated recently after a longer postprocessing pause to version 1.8.9.

While calibrating a large dataset I ran yesterday into a severe problem when applying flatfield frames.
Using the standard image calibration process including flatfields I get results with even more vignetting (see below: middle picture) than using no flatfield at all (left picture).
First of all I was considering my flatfields were not matching but that does not seem to be the point.

When I use the same calibration but only with a bias & darkframe reduction and then manually apply the flatfield to that result using pixel math I get a proper image (right picture).
So what is the difference between these two processes? Mathematically they should be the same and I would like to use the standard calibration process.

I have included the dataset as download link for inspection and a screenshot of the calibration process.

What am I doing wrong? Any ideas are highly welcome.

Kurt-Peter

Left = only bias and darkframe reduction with image calibration process
Middle = bias, darkframe and flatfield reduction with image calibration process
Right = bias and darkframe reduction with image calibration, then flatfield with pixel math

3er.jpg

settings image calibration process:
ic.jpg

The problem is the master dark optimization. The optimization introduces an additive component that is the cause of this global vignetting residual.
Disable the optimization and use dark frames with the proper matching exposure: you'll get correct results :) - assuming that your data has no other issues, of course (like lights infiltrations or the flats not being properly calibrated) -

Thanks for your reply and your proposal to solve the issue.