Cigar and Bodes with Flux

I'm a newbie to Pixinsight and trying to process the Cigar and Bodes galaxies. During processing I see some of the flux nebula between the two and do want to include that as a delicate feature. But my lack of skills fail me. If I bring the nebula out the galaxy details get overblown and the background is no longer black. So I think there might be some way to capture both. Do I need to go out and take separate exposures and then combine them somehow? Or can I do it with what I have?

Processing details:
Celestron Edge HD 8
Hyperstar
AVX mount non guided
ASI294MC with L-Pro Filter
100 subs at 60 seconds
Darks and Flats

I have processed thru integration and here is the file before DBE.
\https://www.icloud.com/iclouddrive/0Aeb5bk-IwdPR-cB_ZPylhVHw#integration_w_Cal

Here is what I finally produced. No flux :(

Thank you,
Ben

Last edited:
i think it should be possible by processing normally, just making sure to never clip the blacks. near the end of processing you can try the BackgroundEnhance script (under Scripts->Utilities). this script has a pretty nice interface that lets you play with the various parameters and see the before/after dynamically. it uses multiscale techniques to isolate the large scale structures in the background and let you enhance them.

now, having said all that, the image has problems - it is definitely out of focus. also there is a pretty pronounced gradient just in the red channel. the other channels have gradients but the red channel seems to have a discontinuity diagonally across the center of the frame. i wonder if your flats might be messed up since if this were moonlight i'd expect it to affect all channels equally. i feel like before investing a bunch of time processing you should try to figure out what's gone wrong there. the focus you can't do anything about but there's at least a chance that the red gradient was caused by the calibration process.

rob