Building PCL on Windows

Mike1485

I am trying to build PCL on a Windows laptop. I have had no problem on a Mac but cannot get things working on a Windows machine.

The environment variables are all set fine and MakefileGenerator is running fine (A small tweak required to MakeGenUtility.js as described on this thread https://pixinsight.com/forum/index.php?threads/creating-and-compiling-a-new-pcl-module.16816/ ). I have opened the PCL.vcxproj in VS2019 as administrator and then tried to build the project. I am getting multiple errors "Cannot open include file: 'pcl/<filename>.h': No such file or directory". I have checked the environment variables are correctly specified and also checked in the project properties that "Additional Include Directories" includes $(PCLINCDIR) and this has a subdirectory "pcl" which contains all the relevant .h files. So I am stumped! Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
can you briefly say what you had to do? i have zero experience with windows so it would be interesting to know.

Briefly I think this is what I did (apologies that I will be teaching you to suck eggs in much of this but hopefully it will be helpful generally). Also this is all from memory so sorry if I have mis-remembered what I did or missed an important step!

Here goes ...

Download the PCL source code from The Official PCL Repository at GitLab

You will need to add some extra subdirectories within the PCL directory, ie: two subdirectories of PCL: bin and lib; then two subdirectories of bin: bin32 and bin64; and two subdirectories of lib: lib32 and lib64 (probably don't actually need the xxx32 subdirectories). You end up with a structure like this:

PCL
--bin
----bin32
----bin64
--include
----various sub directories of include
--lib
----lib32
----lib64
--linux
--src
----various subdirectories of src

Create a command line script file (.scp) file within PixInsight along the following lines:

export PCLDIR=C:\Users\mike\PixInsight\PCL