A beginners observations and questions...

Tul

So, I've recently gotten my trial account and was ready to get going…

I've read a couple of 'primers' and followed a tutorial for HaOSC combination (by The Elf), but despite having this super good and slow tutorial, it really is uphill.
As an engineer, I've used lots of complex software, but rarely had the feeling that the whole interface is made to fight you.
There are so many actions where I wonder why they didn't make it simpler, easier, or at least follow conventions.
It would be so easy to make a guided flow for the most common actions that almost everyone will take - And maybe allow you to save some parameters for your own setup.

I started out running the subframe selector on my Ha data (from my OSC) and it told me to use the absolute worst frames! I'm guessing because the stars were really small in G and B channels... Fortunately I discovered that myself, split the CFA from the whole group and then ran it again with better results…
A warning somewhere might have been nice.
An option to use only R/G or B channel? It might be in there, but worded to complex for me to spot it.

2 concrete issues that I had, that someone may help me understand.

1) Pixelmath. I'm trying to make an image out of the maximum pixel values from 2 images but get an error that the argument is not as expected. If I simply add them (Image1+Image2) then its fine but the max function max(Image1, Image2) fails. I can see others have used it... Has it been changed?

2) StarAlignment… I just wonder again why it has to be so complicated… My image was messed up, first as I chose a non-calibrated image as reference (no warnings or notes of any kind) and got checkerboards pattern all over. I managed to google other peoples frustrations and found the answer.