Adjusting Colors in a SHO Image

bmimiaga

I am new to NB imaging and post processing in PixInsight and have tried reading and viewing some good tutorials on YouTube about adjusting colors on a NB image but am still struggling to get the blue and gold colors as shown in the attached photo of IC1396 the Elephant Nebula (this is someone else's image). Here's my attempted post process steps using my master integrated frames;

1. Dynamic Crop to trim the edges of my SHO images.
2. Channel Combination to combine the SHO images into one RGB image.
3. Apply STF and Histogram Transformation to create a non-linear RGB image.
4. Create a Lum of the image and save it for future work.
5. Use the Color Mask script to create three masks in Green, Magenta and Cyan.
6. Use these color masks with Curves Transformation to bring out the colors of my RGB image as desired or shown in this attached photo (that is not mine).

But I am having trouble getting the blue and gold colors at the top and bottom ends of the image to appear as shown in in the attached thumbnail photo.
Can someone please provide me some suggestions or steps I need to follow to mimic the colors in this attached photo?

Here's the location of my three SHO files:

Thanks for any help, Bob

Attachments

• IC1396_Nebula.jpg
    IC1396_Nebula.jpg
    115.1 KB · Views: 104
looking at your masters, there seems to be some kind of flattening issue. the edges of each image are bright as though the flats have overcorrected. this might be what's preventing you from getting correct colors.

this looks like a CMOS camera - did you use flat darks to calibrate the flats, or bias frames?

rob

Rob, thanks for looking at the masters. Yes I’ve noticed the faded corners but didn’t know the cause. I have a Celestron 8” SCT with an Asi1600MM camera. I’m using an OAG and a F6.3 reducer. Will a flatter lens help in this case?
I normally crop the edges.