DBE / ABE is resulting in "rainbow" colors and increased grainy noise

Aloha Everybody!

I am new to PI and I am currently stuck at a DBE / ABE issue.

My initial image looks relatively ok (see pre-DBE attachment), but when I run a DBE or ABE it turns into a very grainy image and the background becomes less smooth and very colorful. Subsequent DBE adjustments after the first run are no longer possible since the resulting layer is even more colorful. This "new" color scheme then also shows in the non-linear processing phase.

I saw this issue mentioned occacionally in CN or here, but I could not solve my issue with the offered solutions.

If you would like to take a look you can find the master light here:

I use an entry level Nikon D3400 camera and image from outside of LA at a red zone. Total integration time of the example is around 6 hours (126x3min)

Any help, suggestion, comments, would be appreciate as I am out of ideas!

Attachments

• Pre DBE.jpg
    Pre DBE.jpg
    165.8 KB · Views: 258
  • Post DBE.jpg
    Post DBE.jpg
    333.8 KB · Views: 218
the artifacts that appear in the red channel are actually already visible in the pre-dbe image. i think you may have one or more bad subs?

imaging from red zone LP is really hard...

rob

the artifacts that appear in the red channel are actually already visible in the pre-dbe image. i think you may have one or more bad subs?

imaging from red zone LP is really hard...

rob
Thank you Rob. I did another test stack with WBPP, limiting the subs to only the darker ones that I took later in the evening. The stacked lights looks comparable to the attached one, and I did not see much of a difference between them. Both result in the same odd DBE / ABE look.