Narrowband Calibration Problem

Phil Swift

I have been using Pixinsight for almost 2 years and have taken many NB images using my ED 80 on HEQ5Pro mount. I took a batch of Ha subs last week and and tried to calibrate them today. I always run the Image Calibration with the same settings with Master Bias, Dark and Flat.

The calibrated images I am getting are almost totally black with a handful of stars and no nebulosity.

I ran some LRGB subs and these were fine also some older NB subs. The LRGB were all fine but the NB were all Black as described above.

I have checked all the original subs (fits files) and they look fine.

I have checked all the fits headers and they are fine.

I don’t think I have changed anything in my process.

Has something changed in Pixinsight or or is it me???

I am not aware that the ImageCalibration process changed lately. Please post some details about your camera, the statistics of the Ha frames and the master calibration files, and about the calibration settings:

Which camera model are you using?
Please disclose the gain and offset settings and post the median values of a typical Ha frame, of the MasterDark and the MasterBias.
Do you calibrate manually or do you use WBPP?

If you calibrate manually:
How do you generate the MasterDark?
Please show your settings for the calibration of the light frames.

If you use WBPP:
Show the Control Panel with the MasterDark selected.

Bernd

1619783447604.png

1619783483639.png

Hi Phil,

thank you for the detailed information.

Your approach of generating MasterBias and MasterDark is correct. I assume that you are using a MasterDark that is built from darks with an exposure time that matches the light frames.

Because of the "amplifier glow" of the ASI1600 it is not recommendable to use dark frame optimization in the calibration of the light frames. Please try the following settings:

- Disable the section 'MasterBias'