Author Topic: Close All function  (Read 2430 times)

Offline Jack Harvey

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 975
    • View Profile
    • PegasusAstronomy.com & Starshadows.com
Close All function
« on: 2008 May 16 06:57:24 »
I think this function is unnecessarily cumbersome.  To me the purpose of a Close All is to do exactly that, close all windows with a single click.  OK, maybe two clicks, one to select Close All and a second to Confirm that is really what you want.  As it is now after selecting Close All you get an endless series of windows telling yuo that you are going to lose the unsaved data from that window, do you want to continue.  Usually after closing about 5 or 6 windows by this I then get a crash.   I vote Close All really means Close All in the next version<G>.
Jack Harvey, PTeam Member
Team Leader, SSRO/PROMPT Imaging Team, CTIO

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 6688
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Close All function
« Reply #1 on: 2008 May 16 11:46:32 »
OK, message received  :lol:

You're right; I've been too conservative with this. Thank you for helping me to see it.

How about this. You select Close All and if there are two or more unsaved images a warning message appears giving you three options:

1. Review all unsaved images (just as now happens)
2. Close all images without further warnings/questions
3. Cancel (nothing is done)

Do you agree? Anyone has other ideas? This can be implemented in the next version (due next week, and comes with a little surprise <g>).
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Jack Harvey

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 975
    • View Profile
    • PegasusAstronomy.com & Starshadows.com
Close all
« Reply #2 on: 2008 May 16 12:36:56 »
Perfect I would say
Jack Harvey, PTeam Member
Team Leader, SSRO/PROMPT Imaging Team, CTIO

Offline David Serrano

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Close All function
« Reply #3 on: 2008 May 16 14:47:41 »
Quote from: "Juan Conejero"
How about this. You select Close All and if there are two or more unsaved images


What would happen if there's only one unsaved image? Not biting, just wondering why "two or more", which implies that the "just one" case is somehow special...
--
 David Serrano

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 6688
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Close All function
« Reply #4 on: 2008 May 18 01:06:12 »
Hi David,

I was influenced by a different task when I wrote "two or more". I actually meant "one or more". Thanks for bitting ;)
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/