Author Topic: Clone Stamp Tool  (Read 1174 times)

Offline pscammp

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Clone Stamp Tool
« on: 2014 February 09 05:36:15 »
Hey all, i've just discovered the clone stamp tool    :D

Ow learning Pixinsight is such fun  !!

I found a topic in the Wish List forum which got me going with this tool along with one of Harry's
video tut's, Juan mentions an option to keep the 'source location fixed' rather than it moving with
you as you clone.

Cant work out how to do this though....Was it implimented  ???

Cheers all
Paul

Offline Mitch Mithell

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Clone Stamp Tool
« Reply #1 on: 2019 May 09 23:01:16 »
Did you ever figure out this one?  I was about to post this exact question -- how to keep the source point still while cloning?

Offline oldwexi

  • PixInsight Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • Astronomy Pages G.W.
Re: Clone Stamp Tool
« Reply #2 on: 2019 May 10 10:32:57 »
Personally i see the use of CloneStamp as bad habit in Astro image processing,
however if you want to stamp the same part of an imagecircle over a different location so:
after placing the copy you press Ctrl and left mouse again, this selects the just copied area and you can move this
to another place in the image, if you want to create a copy again press immediately after
placing the copy  again the Ctrl button plus left mouse which again selects the just placed image part and move it to another place.
and so and so on...

If you want to copy parts of another image in the active one here the advice:
Load CloneStamp process.
Define "receiving" image/view with:
Click top name-bar of view to get it blue,
Click reset in CloneStamp.

Than, in whatever imageview you press Ctrl + left mouse button
it will be the "sending" image view part!!!
Moving the cursor back to the "receiving" image view,  left click the mouse
to the wanted position the circle of the "sending" image will be copied to the
"receiving" image view.

So, you can move different parts of an image or
exactly the same positions/image parts if you take MANUALLY exactly care of the mouse click position in the sending view and in the receiving view for example
to copy better developed parts from one image over the
receiving image.

Gerald

Offline Mitch Mithell

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Clone Stamp Tool
« Reply #3 on: 2019 May 10 19:17:04 »
Gerald,

I don't want to learn bad habits just starting out with PixInsight -- how do you get rid of dust bunnies if you don't have flats to subtract?  I tried using the clone stamp tool but if there's a better way I'd rather learn to do whatever that is!

Thanks!

Mitch

Offline ngc1535

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
Re: Clone Stamp Tool
« Reply #4 on: 2019 May 11 00:02:41 »
HI Mitch,

The removal of dust donuts depends on the kind of data you have. If, for example, your uncalibrated images are only a fraction of a larger set- you can use creative rejection techniques. This is the best case scenario!  If, however, they are baked in to every frame... this is more difficult. You can typically remove (that is adjust) one or two offenders using a combination of masks and adjusting the background sky brightness (or even certain kinds of pixel substitution).

All of that being said... proper calibration with flats is the ultimate answer. Flats would be the beginners solution to the problem- the other creative stuff isn't necessarily "fundamental" and so becomes a more involved exercise typically.
-adam

Offline Mitch Mithell

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Clone Stamp Tool
« Reply #5 on: 2019 May 11 13:42:02 »
Yep agree on the flats, but I just want to get some other arrows in the quiver and also some of my old images from years ago were taken before I started capturing flats and I want to try and fix them.

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4215
    • View Profile
Re: Clone Stamp Tool
« Reply #6 on: 2019 May 11 17:35:21 »
if you have a "well behaved" dust bunny (not 'embossed' looking and mostly round) you can probably use pixelmath to brighten (or darken) the spot.

iif(inellipse( 2728, 737, 111, 111 ),$T*1.00075,$T)

i had a spot with radius 111 at 2728,737 which i fixed in my linear master with that expression. you have to experiment with the scale factor. it helps also to use the "super nuclear" STF boost to see if the spot was brightened or darkened enough. it also helps to step away from the screen for a minute and then come back and try to see if you can still detect the spot. your eyes play tricks on you due to persistence of vision, which may make it momentarily seem like the spot is still there.

things get more complicated if you are using an OTA with a central obstruction.

rob