Author Topic: narrowband challenge NGC6188 (Ha, OIII, SII)  (Read 8125 times)

Offline troypiggo

• PixInsight Addict
    • View Profile
narrowband challenge NGC6188 (Ha, OIII, SII)
« on: 2012 May 11 22:24:40 »
I recently posted my Hubble Palette image of NGC6188 here.  Common consensus, me included, is that it's a bit too green.  In some ways I expect it to be heavily green, because it's predominantly Ha I think.  But I agree these look better when there's some of the yellows, magentas, blues etc as well.

My workflow for the image I created was:

- Batch preprocessing script for image calibration and alignment, image integration was linear fit
- LRGB combination process with L unchecked, R=SII, G=Ha, B=OIII
- STF auto with the channels unlinked. I find this gives the quickest and closest view before non-linear stretching of what the final will look like after stretching.
- DBE. Very simple as I'm no expert in it. Just generated the sample as default and applied subtraction correction.
- This is the part I think was pretty cool. I did an auto STF again with channels unlinked because of the DBE. Then I zoomed in to tweak the mid-tone slider of the R and B channels to get the colour balance I liked. Then you drag the little blue process icon from the STF to the HistogramTransformation's bottom bar. What this does is copy the STF setting to the HistoTransf to apply. Then just apply the HistoTransf to the image. You'll probably need to reset the STF now.
- Created a lightness mask and applied subtle noise reduction using GreyCStoration
- Very light morphtransform (erosion) to control the stars and found it also boosted the overall image.

So, have at it.  I've posted the files to the Endor file server.  Be really interested in how you get to your final result, too.  I've posted my initial attempt here too for simplicity.

Go to Endor, Shared Elements, Shared Repositories, "NGC6188 public".  Log in as "public" user password is "pixinsight" I believe.