Author Topic: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448  (Read 1096 times)

Offline EorEquis

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« on: 2018 December 20 07:46:51 »
I've encountered 2 issues with the SFS process in 1.08.06.1448 on Windows 10.  One is 100% reparable, the other seems to be "random", though I'm sure it's probably not.

  • If an SFS process icon is saved with Approval and Weighting expressions, and then opened, erasing those expressions has no effect.  E.G. if you open an SFS process icon with both expressions, clear the approval expression, and then measure subframes, frames are still rejected and approved based on the previous expression, despite the field now being blank.

    Further, when SFS is closed and reopened via the Process Menu, the cleared expression is now back in the expression field.

    This happens with both weighting and approval expressions...the expression is applied even after being cleared, and retained when the process is reopened.

    Video example here :

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSRuZQ2OmNw

  • At apparently random times, launching the SubframeSelector process from either the menu or a process icon gives me an "Invalid Script Execution" error.  I have not yet been able to determine exact steps to reproduce this error on demand.

    The process continues to work after clicking "Ok" on this error.  There is no error message of any kind in the Process Console when this happens

Offline chris.bailey

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #1 on: 2018 December 20 08:08:51 »
1. You have to click the little right arrow to apply the expression to the process so just blanking out the field isn't enough, you need to blank it out and then click the little arrow to apply it.

Chris

Offline EorEquis

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #2 on: 2018 December 20 08:17:26 »
Thanks for the info, Chris.  That at least clears up that first behaviour as not a bug.

Can't say I'm a huge fan of the new SFS UI though.  The 3-window UI wasn't my favorite to begin with, and now just one more click that's counter-intuitive.  I'll go back to the script I think.

Offline EorEquis

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #3 on: 2018 December 20 08:33:09 »
As long as we're on the subject....

https://i.imgur.com/3JFox3z.png

What am I missing to make the graph appear?

Offline cameronleger

  • PTeam Member
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #4 on: 2018 December 20 09:39:39 »
In addition to clicking the icon, I think that Ctrl+Enter will apply it as well.

The Invalid Script Execution error is something that the JavaScript Runtime throws. Since the graphs are done in JavaScript/HTML, it makes sense using it after that exception results in it being unusable. If you can provide any reproduction steps or accompanying logs, that would help.

Offline EorEquis

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #5 on: 2018 December 20 10:09:43 »
Quote
If you can provide any reproduction steps or accompanying logs, that would help.


So far, haven't been able to reliably reproduce...it simply "happens" about 1 time in 5 starting the process.

As I said above, nothing in the process console when it happens.  Is there another log file(s) somewhere I can send your way?

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 6688
    • View Profile
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #6 on: 2018 December 21 01:07:25 »
Yes, I have seen this script execution error. It happens occasionally the first time one launches the SFS tool. It may be something in the scripts that are being executed on the WebView control. We have to find and fix this bug.

Can't say I'm a huge fan of the new SFS UI though.  The 3-window UI wasn't my favorite to begin with, and now just one more click that's counter-intuitive.  I'll go back to the script I think.

Cameron's SFS implementation is a much evolved tool, so you'll lack functionality and performance improvements. As for 'counter-intuitive' UI features, I think this is a matter of preferences. I personally find the new interface much better organized and easier to use. It splits the tool into its three high-level components: process parameters, data analysis expressions, and data measurements, following a classical divide and conquer strategy. For me at least, this is more operable than having everything together.

Having said that, I think the expressions window can be improved. We should add some controls to notify the user when the expressions have been modified but still not executed. This should be relatively easy to implement. On the other hand, it would be nice if we provided more specific information when an expression is invalid (syntactically or semantically). The latter is more complicated, and may require small changes in our development framework.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline cameronleger

  • PTeam Member
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #7 on: 2018 December 21 10:48:42 »
Having said that, I think the expressions window can be improved. We should add some controls to notify the user when the expressions have been modified but still not executed. This should be relatively easy to implement. On the other hand, it would be nice if we provided more specific information when an expression is invalid (syntactically or semantically). The latter is more complicated, and may require small changes in our development framework.

Hey Juan,
Is there a formal ticket tracker in use that I could piggy-back on? I currently have a small and free Trello board where I'm keeping track of features and issues. I typically run an agile process, so I'd like to run all of them by you and get prioritization and input. If nothing else, I can just sent you a summarized list.

Also, it might depend on the specific issue or version, but I was under the impression that the PJSR provided the specific error (e.g. "FHHM is not a known variable or expression") when something like this was the case, right after the "Invalid Script Execution" message. For me this was in red in the Process Console, or maybe it was in the stdout of the terminal I ran it in. Perhaps the latest error checking on the expressions is gobbling this. Either way, it seems that would be leveraged in this case.

Offline Cieldenuit

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #8 on: 2018 December 23 00:12:08 »
Hello, I'm new on PixInsight forum, but a happy user since a couple of years...
I installed the new 1.8.6 version and experience quite the same error while using the SubframSelector process (1.08.06.1448 and Windows 10) : the first time I used the process, no graph were visible. When I start a new PixInsight session, just open the SFS process, then comes a popup window "Error" with the following message : "Graph Error: Invalid script execution". I can close the popup and continue to use the process, have measurements and output weighted subframes, but no graph is visible.
The "old" script works with no problem.
I uninstalled the 1.8.6 version, reinstalled it,  with no success.
Tried also to reset settings, with the Pixinsight shortcut, no success, still the graph error.
I never get the graphs visible, even if the popup error is not always shown.
Apparently it is only visualization problem, and I really appreciate to be able to use other functions while the process is opened, unlike the script version, but graphs are useful too !
Thanks in advance if anyone can help !

Beside this question, PixInsight created a .conf file when resetting settings, and I do not see how to recover my previous settings : I tried to copy this file and rename as PixInsight.ini in the Pleiades folder, copy and paste its content in the ini file, but with no success. Still have the factory settings. Not a serious issue, I quickly tuned parameters, but It could be useful to know if it is possible to re-use the saved parameters.
Thanks for any response, I'm impatient to try this new version of this fantastic software !
Olivier

Offline kayronjm

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
    • Light Vortex Astronomy
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #9 on: 2018 December 23 14:50:06 »
The new process is excellent, yeah. A lot faster than the old script too. I too cannot get the graphs to display however. Nothing I do seems to make the graphs appear. When I start PixInsight and then the process, it pops up an error saying: "Graph Error: Invalid script execution"

[EDIT]: I just got it to work, oddly. I simply closed PixInsight once again, re-opened it and re-opened the process. No error and the graph is working. This didn't happen earlier when I closed and re-opened PixInsight. Seems second time lucky!
- Avalon M-Uno
- Takahashi FSQ-85ED, Altair Astro 8" RC with Astro-Physics CCDT67 Telecompressor
- QSI 660wsg-8, Starlight Xpress Lodestar X2
- Astrodon E-Series Gen2 LRGB 1.25", Astrodon HA, OIII & SII 3nm 1.25"

Offline tonymacc

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #10 on: 2018 December 27 08:53:47 »
I didn't notice this thread before starting another on the error with subframe selector, its hit or miss whether the graph appears or not, after closing and re-opening pi it sometimes works but not everytime.

Offline Warhen

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Old Hand
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
    • View Profile
    • Billions and Billions
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #11 on: 2018 December 29 06:10:33 »
Hi Cam and Juan, It would be good to get all the random posts on SFS under one thread. My issues are similar to what's been reported, I can't reliably get the two subwindows to display. I wanted to keep a New Instance Icon for this but when it's reopened from the icon, only the main window appears. This 'rights' again after PI has been shut down and restarted. Also, I'd like to store a weighting expression in the Expressions window, but this doesn't stick when the instance is preserved in an icon. Thanks!
Best always, Warren

Warren A. Keller
www.ip4ap.com

Offline david_taurus83

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #12 on: 2018 December 30 03:32:46 »
Hello all. Instead of starting a new thread about this I thought I'd update this one instead. I too have issues with the new SFS process. The measurement window won't open at all. If I click the button on top right to expand it the process stalls. If I add files, set the parameters and apply global, the process also stalls. Whilst it stalls and greys out, strangely enough I can still access and use the main PI window and access other processes. The original script still works fine.

David

Offline SkyExplorer

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #13 on: 2019 January 06 18:10:40 »
The only way I could get the graphs to display once they were gone was to reboot.  Just closing and reopening PixInsight did not help. 

Offline RickS

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1295
    • View Profile
Re: SubframeSelector process : 2 issues in 1.08.06.1448
« Reply #14 on: 2019 January 07 02:10:49 »
The only way I could get the graphs to display once they were gone was to reboot.  Just closing and reopening PixInsight did not help.

This is a known problem and already fixed.  We just need to wait patiently for it to be released.