PixInsight Forum

PixInsight => General => Topic started by: BobinBend on 2019 May 11 17:59:43

Title: Loading Process Icons on more than one Workspace
Post by: BobinBend on 2019 May 11 17:59:43
How does someone Load process icons on more than one Workspace? When I'm in another workspace and attempt to load another set of process icons on that workspace they seem to automatically go to Workspace01.

Thanks,
Bob
Title: Re: Loading Process Icons on more than one Workspace
Post by: msmythers on 2019 May 11 20:25:01
Bob

A process Icon is saved with the location(workspace) and position information so it opens where you last saved it. If you open the process icon file with a text editor you can change that information. The next to the last line holds this information. In my case 'workspace=Workspace02'. Change the Workspace02 to which workspace you like. Remember position information could cause icons to be overlapping with other icons.

I just make multiple icons sometimes and just save them in the particular workspace they will be used.


Mike
Title: Re: Loading Process Icons on more than one Workspace
Post by: BobinBend on 2019 May 13 17:58:44
Mike,
Thanks for your replay but your suggestion doesn't seem to work. I used WordPad to modify the workspace="Workspace02" where ever it existed. Then opened PI, went to Workspace 1, loaded my icons and it loaded correctly. Then went to Workspace 2 and loaded the new modified Process Icon file and it loaded the set of process icons onto workspace 2. But it also removed the icons from workspace 1.

I want to be able to have sets of process icons in both workspaces at the same time if that's possible. There should be a way to accomplish this.
Any other suggestions?

Thanks,
Bob
Title: Re: Loading Process Icons on more than one Workspace
Post by: pfile on 2019 May 13 20:10:57
use "merge process icons" the 2nd time. you'll get them on both workspaces.

rob
Title: Re: Loading Process Icons on more than one Workspace
Post by: Alejandro Tombolini on 2019 May 14 18:33:33
Hi Bob,

this video (http://pixinsight.com.ar/en/docs/44/pixinsight-loadmerge-process-icons.html) may help.

Saludos, Alejandro.
Title: Re: Loading Process Icons on more than one Workspace
Post by: BobinBend on 2019 May 15 09:13:20
Alejandro,
Thanks for taking the time to help me with this. I finally got it to work but had to create a SECOND Process Icon file set and the merge command added a suffix to the icon names to keep them unique from the first set.

Why is that?
Thanks again, Bob
Title: Re: Loading Process Icons on more than one Workspace
Post by: pfile on 2019 May 15 09:19:47
that's just how it works - the "namespace" for process icons is global across all workspaces. so every process icon in PI has to have a unique name.

rob
Title: Re: Loading Process Icons on more than one Workspace
Post by: BobinBend on 2019 May 16 09:15:34
Thanks for the answer. One last question...
If I'm working on two almost identical images in two different workspaces, what is the easiest way to apply a process to the first image than quickly apply the same process with all its settings to the second image? Can I transfer previews, masks etc. to the second workspace without having to manually recreate them?

Thanks again,
Bob
Title: Re: Loading Process Icons on more than one Workspace
Post by: Alejandro Tombolini on 2019 May 16 10:14:10
Hi Bob, you can make a process visible in all workspaces.

For that, shade the process > right click on it > Visible in All Workspaces
Then you can change between workspaces (http://pixinsight.com.ar/en/docs/9/pixinsight-change-workspace.html) and apply the process in the corresponding image.

Saludos, Alejandro.
Title: Re: Loading Process Icons on more than one Workspace
Post by: BobinBend on 2019 May 16 10:55:51
Hi Bob, you can make a process visible in all workspaces.

For that, shade the process > right click on it > Visible in All Workspaces
Then you can change between workspaces (http://pixinsight.com.ar/en/docs/9/pixinsight-change-workspace.html) and apply the process in the corresponding image.

Saludos, Alejandro.

Thanks Alejandro, I'll give this a try!
Bob
Title: Re: Loading Process Icons on more than one Workspace
Post by: tchitty on 2019 May 17 09:05:59
That works, thanks. Something that I have tried to figure out!

TomC
Title: Re: Loading Process Icons on more than one Workspace
Post by: BobinBend on 2019 May 17 13:30:26
Hi Bob, you can make a process visible in all workspaces.

For that, shade the process > right click on it > Visible in All Workspaces
Then you can change between workspaces (http://pixinsight.com.ar/en/docs/9/pixinsight-change-workspace.html) and apply the process in the corresponding image.

Saludos, Alejandro.

Alejandro, Yes it worked. Thanks for your help!
Bob