Author Topic: Calibration and align batch operations  (Read 178806 times)

Offline cs_pixinsight

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #360 on: 2012 May 02 11:38:25 »
Is there a reason debayering and noise estimation is a sequential operation in the current version?  The total processing time would decrease quite a bit if it could occur in parallel like CosmeticCorrection is currently doing.  Only using 1 of 8 cores seems like a waste of resources  ;)

Craig

Offline cs_pixinsight

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #361 on: 2012 May 02 11:41:44 »
I have a processing questions for multiple nights and different aperture settings.

Let's say night 1 has subs using a lens at F5.6 and night 2 the lens was at F4.0.  Does the BatchProcessing script allow matching up the flats and lights from each night?  If so, how is this accomplished?

If not, would it be possible to add this functionality?

Thanks, Craig

Offline atheelen

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 7
  • Astronomy is looking up
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #362 on: 2012 May 03 00:48:43 »
Hi Andrew,

This problem is strange. The FITS header looks correct, and all tests we have made with Maxim DL images have worked fine so far.

We need a sample of your data to understand and fix the problem. It would be great if you could upload a calibration set. Just 3 or 4 light and flat frames for each filter plus 3 bias and 3 darks would suffice. Do you have an Endor file server account?

Juan, yes I have just received access to Endor file server. Where do you want me to upload the files to?
 
regards,
Andrew

Offline mmirot

  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 881
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #363 on: 2012 May 03 20:40:26 »
Hey Juan is there a way access the overscan feature with the script

Max

Offline jjongmans

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 5
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #364 on: 2012 May 05 03:03:53 »
Every time when I run the script, I get the following error: ImageWindow.windowById(): invalid view identifier

All I do is; select bias and light frames, select reference file, select output directory, run the script

OUTPUT:
run --execute-mode=auto "/Applications/PixInsight64.app/Contents/src/scripts/BatchPreprocessing/BatchPreprocessing.js"

Processing script file: /Applications/PixInsight64.app/Contents/src/scripts/BatchPreprocessing/BatchPreprocessing.js

*********************************************************************
* Begin integration of bias frames
*********************************************************************

ImageIntegration: Global context

* Loaded cache: 697 item(s)

Opening files:
/Volumes/NAS/... .../QSI/calibration frames/bias frames/bias_-20c_1x1-1_001.fit
Weight          :     1.00000
/Volumes/NAS/... .../QSI/calibration frames/bias frames/bias_-20c_1x1-2_001.fit
Weight          :     1.00000
/Volumes/NAS/... .../QSI/calibration frames/bias frames/bias_-20c_1x1-3_001.fit
Weight          :     1.00000
/Volumes/NAS/... .../QSI/calibration frames/bias frames/bias_-20c_1x1-4_001.fit
Weight          :     1.00000
/Volumes/NAS/... .../QSI/calibration frames/bias frames/bias_-20c_1x1_001.fit
Weight          :     1.00000

Integration of 5 images:
Pixel combination ......... average
Output normalization ...... none
Pixel rejection ........... none

* Using 1261 concurrent pixel stack(s) = 255.99 MB
Integrating pixel rows:     0 ->  1260: 100%
Integrating pixel rows:  1261 ->  2503: 100%
9.349 s

*********************************************************************
* End integration of bias frames
*********************************************************************

Writing master bias frame:
/Users/... .../master/bias-BINNING_1.fit

This is the point where I get the error.

PixInsight Standard Edition
Version 01.07.06.0793 Starbuck

Mac OS X 10.7.3


What to do?

Offline kwiechen

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #365 on: 2012 May 05 06:07:31 »
I have had similar problems when using files from NAS storage with win 7. Can you please try to load the files from the local HDD?

Kai


Offline jjongmans

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 5
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #366 on: 2012 May 05 06:47:50 »
Copied all the files to my local HDD, tried to run the script again, same result..  ImageWindow.windowById(): invalid view identifier

Offline bitli

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 513
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #367 on: 2012 May 06 02:14:27 »
I had the same problem as quoted below and I think that I found the problem/solution (see below):

...
I have been using it for a few hours and unfortunately I have a few issues that I hope you can resolve for me.

When loading images it does not seem to be reading the FITS header information of the image files.
For example it always loads images under the heading “Binning 1” even though in the FITS header of the image it reads binning 2 under the XBINNING or YBINNING fields. 

Also it never loads my light frames automatically although the FITS image type “IMAGETYP” field is set correctly, value = 'Light Frame'.

Another issue is that after the script has completed I only ever get 1 Master Light named “light-BINNING_1.fit” in the master folder. No others are listed even though I have added light frame images of Red, Green, Blue and Luminance images to compile.
...
Andrew

There is a bug at line 250 of BatchPreprocessing-helper.js. The line read:
Code: [Select]
      if ( ext != ".fit" && ext != ".$" )but the calling code in BatchPreprocessing-engine.js around line 385 reads
Code: [Select]
   if ( ext == ".fit" || ext == ".fits" || ext == ".fts" )
The test  at line 250 of BatchPreprocessing-helper.js must accept files with extensions 'fits' and 'fts' also.

The workaround is naturally to rename your files in '.fit'.
Hope this helps

-- bitli


Offline steinplanet

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 3
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #368 on: 2012 May 06 03:45:34 »
Hello,

My name is Willi and I live in Germany near Luxembourg.
Please excuse my bad English but I am still learning. ::)
For a few days I use now PixInsight. A really powerful program!

I have a question about the Batch Preprocessing.
Can I use Flatdarks instead of BIAS?

Greetings from Saarlouis
« Last Edit: 2012 May 06 03:58:50 by steinplanet »
Clear Skies
Willi

Offline mmirot

  • PixInsight Padawan
  • ****
  • Posts: 881
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #369 on: 2012 May 06 17:44:07 »
Flat darks are not necessary unless you use exposures longer than 45 seconds


Max

Offline RobF2

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • Rob
    • Rob's Astropics
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #370 on: 2012 May 06 21:30:57 »
Rob,

Quote
Then gives error:
(name of master bias): Multiple images cannont be used as calibration frames

Quote
These multiple image files appear to be incompatable for subsequent calibration however (even trying to use them manually using the Image Calibration process fails with the error I gave above).

This happens because you are using an old version of the ImageCalibration module. You need ImageCalibration version 1.1.2.83, which we released April 29th as an update. Have you applied all the available updates to your PI installation?

With the latest version of ImageCalibration, multiple FITS work without problems.

I have that update now Juan, but perhaps wasn't loaded at the time - will investigate further.  Many thanks,
Rob
FSQ106/8" Newt on NEQ6/HEQ5Pro via EQMOD | QHY9 | Guiding:  ZS80II/QHY5IIL | Canon 450D | DBK21 and other "stuff"
Rob's Astropics

Offline RobF2

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • Rob
    • Rob's Astropics
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #371 on: 2012 May 06 22:20:06 »
By the way, this script is a game-changer for me with PI.  So many older projects I had put off finishing processing (knowing the data collection had been marginal) are now straight-forward to finish using an instance of the script with bias/darks/flats for every binning/filter loaded.  Only have to load up lights and turn it loose now while sorting out other things in the background.  Great to see Juan and the rest of the PI user base pulling in behind too.   O0

Thanks so much again Kai
FSQ106/8" Newt on NEQ6/HEQ5Pro via EQMOD | QHY9 | Guiding:  ZS80II/QHY5IIL | Canon 450D | DBK21 and other "stuff"
Rob's Astropics

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1458
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #372 on: 2012 May 07 02:06:10 »
Hi

The latest version seems to have lost the ability to save any image  files when you save a "new instance" :yell:





Harry
Harry Page

Offline Harry page

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 1458
    • http://www.harrysastroshed.com
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #373 on: 2012 May 07 05:56:59 »
Hi

To correctley debayer a image using the Module I need to select GRBG , but with the script I need BGGR a bit confusing  :sad:


Harry
Harry Page

Offline georg.viehoever

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Master
  • ******
  • Posts: 2132
Re: Calibration and align batch operations
« Reply #374 on: 2012 May 07 05:58:51 »
Harry,
this may be due to the FITS orientation option. Most likely your images are also rotated. Try to toggle the entry in the script GUI.
Georg
Georg (6 inch Newton, unmodified Canon EOS40D+80D, unguided EQ5 mount)