Author Topic: Blind Solver  (Read 60532 times)

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7111
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #60 on: 2010 September 02 12:08:51 »
Quote
The future of this script may well be to integrate with astrometry.net

Good point, but depending on an online service is problematic and limits functionality. Another solution would be integrating astrometry.net's source code (or relevant portions of it) in an open-source PixInsight module. That would solve all portability problems. It would be a hard task for sure, but I think it is perfectly doable. Unfortunately the GPL license prevents this possibility.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Nocturnal

  • PixInsight Jedi Council Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2727
    • http://www.carpephoton.com
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #61 on: 2010 September 02 12:13:46 »

Right, there are certainly drawbacks to depend on online services. So I keep Elbrus around if I'm desperate to solve an image :)
Best,

    Sander
---
Edge HD 1100
QHY-8 for imaging, IMG0H mono for guiding, video cameras for occulations
ASI224, QHY5L-IIc
HyperStar3
WO-M110ED+FR-III/TRF-2008
Takahashi EM-400
PIxInsight, DeepSkyStacker, PHD, Nebulosity

Offline Nocturnal

  • PixInsight Jedi Council Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2727
    • http://www.carpephoton.com
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #62 on: 2010 September 02 12:22:37 »
As far as GPL goes it's quite possible that the a.n team is willing to grant us a license if we write an open source PI solver based on their code. I haven't looked at the code in detail but it appears that most functionality is already organized in libraries so that would simplify things a bit. Clearly the drawback of having a large collection of executables glued together with python is that converting a set of these executables into a single dll could be tricky if there are data naming conflicts.

So I guess the question is "who would want to take on this project and do it for free" :)
Best,

    Sander
---
Edge HD 1100
QHY-8 for imaging, IMG0H mono for guiding, video cameras for occulations
ASI224, QHY5L-IIc
HyperStar3
WO-M110ED+FR-III/TRF-2008
Takahashi EM-400
PIxInsight, DeepSkyStacker, PHD, Nebulosity

Offline Nocturnal

  • PixInsight Jedi Council Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2727
    • http://www.carpephoton.com
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #63 on: 2010 September 05 14:58:31 »
Ok, with some makefile futsing I got astrometry.net to compile completely using cygwin. I'll be trying out the script and see if that can be made to work as well.
Best,

    Sander
---
Edge HD 1100
QHY-8 for imaging, IMG0H mono for guiding, video cameras for occulations
ASI224, QHY5L-IIc
HyperStar3
WO-M110ED+FR-III/TRF-2008
Takahashi EM-400
PIxInsight, DeepSkyStacker, PHD, Nebulosity

Offline Nocturnal

  • PixInsight Jedi Council Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2727
    • http://www.carpephoton.com
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #64 on: 2010 September 05 16:20:27 »
Hmm, that's not working. I didn't see any security settings to modify. Is this generally disabled for windows?

Code: [Select]
Writing file:
C:/Users/sander/AppData/Local/Temp/PixinsightTmpDir/orig.jpg
Compressing JPEG: 3 channel(s), 2994x1977 pixels: 100%
BlindSolverEngine.solveFile():commandLine=time solve-field -u arcminwidth -L 200 -H 250 --no-plots --downsample 2 -d 30 C:/Users/sander/AppData/Local/Temp/PixinsightTmpDir/orig.jpg
Executing external command
exception caught in solveFile:Error: Console.execute(): operation forbidden as per global security settings.
BlindSolverEngine::deleteDir(): dirName=C:/Users/sander/AppData/Local/Temp/PixinsightTmpDir
BlindSolverEngine::deleteDir(): names=C:/Users/sander/AppData/Local/Temp/PixinsightTmpDir/orig.jpg
BlindSolverEngine::deleteDir(): fileName=C:/Users/sander/AppData/Local/Temp/PixinsightTmpDir/orig.jpg
BlindSolver Script done
*** Error [000]: C:/PCL64/dist/BlindSolver5.js, line 836: Could not solve this image
Best,

    Sander
---
Edge HD 1100
QHY-8 for imaging, IMG0H mono for guiding, video cameras for occulations
ASI224, QHY5L-IIc
HyperStar3
WO-M110ED+FR-III/TRF-2008
Takahashi EM-400
PIxInsight, DeepSkyStacker, PHD, Nebulosity

Offline Juan Conejero

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 7111
    • http://pixinsight.com/
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #65 on: 2010 September 06 09:58:02 »
Hi Sander,

Quote
Error: Console.execute(): operation forbidden as per global security settings.

Select Edit > Security Settings and enable 'Allow execution of commands from JavaScript scripts'. An improved security system will be implemented in the next version, which is much more flexible and can operate on a per-module and per-script basis. For now, you have to enable a global security option to get this script running.
Juan Conejero
PixInsight Development Team
http://pixinsight.com/

Offline Nocturnal

  • PixInsight Jedi Council Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2727
    • http://www.carpephoton.com
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #66 on: 2010 September 06 10:03:25 »
Doh! Never noticed that menu item before. It's interesting that that is one of the few traditional dialog boxes with 'apply' and 'cancel' buttons.
Best,

    Sander
---
Edge HD 1100
QHY-8 for imaging, IMG0H mono for guiding, video cameras for occulations
ASI224, QHY5L-IIc
HyperStar3
WO-M110ED+FR-III/TRF-2008
Takahashi EM-400
PIxInsight, DeepSkyStacker, PHD, Nebulosity

Offline georg.viehoever

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Master
  • ******
  • Posts: 2132
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #67 on: 2010 September 10 08:25:35 »
Hi Sander,

see also http://pixinsight.com/forum/index.php?topic=1857.msg11347#msg11347 where Ioannis tried a Cygwin port. Even when you get it going, I would expect that it is slow due to Cygwin's slow file operations. The Blind Solver is rather disk intense...

Cheers,
Georg
Georg (6 inch Newton, unmodified Canon EOS40D+80D, unguided EQ5 mount)

Offline Nocturnal

  • PixInsight Jedi Council Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2727
    • http://www.carpephoton.com
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #68 on: 2010 September 10 09:45:47 »
Hi Georg,

when I had it working it was fast enough to be useful. Probably because I have reasonably wide fields and constant resolution. I tried to solve my most recent image and that didn't work though. I've asked Dustin for help. Neither my Ubuntu nor Cygwin compiles can solve it but a.net solved it in seconds. I must be doing something wrong.
Best,

    Sander
---
Edge HD 1100
QHY-8 for imaging, IMG0H mono for guiding, video cameras for occulations
ASI224, QHY5L-IIc
HyperStar3
WO-M110ED+FR-III/TRF-2008
Takahashi EM-400
PIxInsight, DeepSkyStacker, PHD, Nebulosity

Offline georg.viehoever

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Master
  • ******
  • Posts: 2132
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #69 on: 2010 September 13 07:12:53 »
Sander,

in my examples, using the downsample option (I think something like -d 2) usually helped. Also, BlindSolver seems to be better at solving unprocesssed images that processed images. In some processed images, it helps to make them more dim (e.g. with moving the midtones slider in Histogram transform to the right). I also had a few images that I was not able to solve, such as Vicent's M51 (which is heavily processed), but I dont know if the web version would have solved these.

Georg
Georg (6 inch Newton, unmodified Canon EOS40D+80D, unguided EQ5 mount)

Offline Nocturnal

  • PixInsight Jedi Council Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 2727
    • http://www.carpephoton.com
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #70 on: 2010 September 13 07:17:09 »
Hi Georg,

the web version never has any trouble solving my images as long as I don't screw up :) It'll happily solve in a few seconds in most cases. Unless they have some studdly mega-cloud computer sitting behind astrometry.net I have to think I can do equally fast on my PC. So far that's been elusive so I'm still trying to work this out. My goal is actually to add more objects to the NGC catalog as I think it's far to shallow right now. I've asked Dustin to add more catalogs to his lookup but got no response on this so far. Looking at the code it's clear why. The objects are hardcoded in C files, it doesn't use catalogs.
Best,

    Sander
---
Edge HD 1100
QHY-8 for imaging, IMG0H mono for guiding, video cameras for occulations
ASI224, QHY5L-IIc
HyperStar3
WO-M110ED+FR-III/TRF-2008
Takahashi EM-400
PIxInsight, DeepSkyStacker, PHD, Nebulosity

Offline georg.viehoever

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Master
  • ******
  • Posts: 2132
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #71 on: 2010 September 13 07:29:34 »
Sander,

I think the machine behind the Astronomy.net solver web server is an 48 GB multicore server. The key factor for its speed is that all catalogs fit into its RAM... at least thats what I believe. Blind Solver gets slow when going into the larger catalogs>1GB on my machine, which is plausible for a 2 GBytes machine.

I cannot help with catalog building, but I understand that all necessary tools are part of the astronomy.net distribution..

Georg
Georg (6 inch Newton, unmodified Canon EOS40D+80D, unguided EQ5 mount)

Offline Astrocava

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
    • Astrocava.com
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #72 on: 2010 December 23 08:26:20 »
Sander,

in my examples, using the downsample option (I think something like -d 2) usually helped. Also, BlindSolver seems to be better at solving unprocesssed images that processed images. In some processed images, it helps to make them more dim (e.g. with moving the midtones slider in Histogram transform to the right). I also had a few images that I was not able to solve, such as Vicent's M51 (which is heavily processed), but I dont know if the web version would have solved these.

Georg


Hi George,

Would be possible to solve a unprocessed image and then use the output into the processed one?

Have fun!

Sergio
Moonfish ED80 over a Meade LX200GPS 8"

Offline georg.viehoever

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Master
  • ******
  • Posts: 2132
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #73 on: 2010 December 23 11:11:46 »
Hi George,

Would be possible to solve a unprocessed image and then use the output into the processed one?

Yes, that would be possible. Just copy the FITS keywords that are set in the solved image.

Georg
Georg (6 inch Newton, unmodified Canon EOS40D+80D, unguided EQ5 mount)

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4729
Re: Blind Solver
« Reply #74 on: 2011 March 02 23:05:31 »
hmm, on osx x86_64 i'm getting "exception caught in solveFile:TypeError: Console.execute is not a function"

sure enough in the javascript editor, i don't see a method called "execute" under console.

so is there an alternate way to execute an external program from javascript on osx, or is this just an osx x86_64 weirdness?