Author Topic: Starnet Problem  (Read 1441 times)

Offline STEVE333

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
    • sk-images
Starnet Problem
« on: 2019 September 30 16:09:00 »
I've been using Starnet successfully as a PI Process for some time.

However, when trying to run it today (9/30/2019) I get the error message  "Checkpoint file not found!" and the process doesn't run.

Any ideas?

Steve
Telescopes:  WO Star71 ii, ES ED102 CF
Camera:  Canon T3 (modified)
Filters:  IDAS LPS-D1, Triad Tri-Band, STC Duo-Narrowband
Mount:  CEM40 EC
Software:  BYEOS, PHD2, PixInsight

http://www.SteveKing.Pictures/

Offline STEVE333

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
    • sk-images
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #1 on: 2019 September 30 16:18:45 »
I saved the files, closed PI, restarted it, and, the problem went away. I was able to reload the image in question and run the Starnet Process on it successfully.

I feel a bit foolish, but, glad for the happy outcome.

Steve
Telescopes:  WO Star71 ii, ES ED102 CF
Camera:  Canon T3 (modified)
Filters:  IDAS LPS-D1, Triad Tri-Band, STC Duo-Narrowband
Mount:  CEM40 EC
Software:  BYEOS, PHD2, PixInsight

http://www.SteveKing.Pictures/

Offline airscottdenning

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 19
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #2 on: 2019 September 30 17:33:12 »
In the PI Process Console, type:

Code: [Select]
cd /bin/PixInsight

Offline STEVE333

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
    • sk-images
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #3 on: 2019 September 30 17:42:28 »
In the PI Process Console, type:

Code: [Select]
cd /bin/PixInsight

Thanks for the response.

Since the Starnet process is now working should I still type the code into the Process Console?
Is this a one-time fix?

Steve
Telescopes:  WO Star71 ii, ES ED102 CF
Camera:  Canon T3 (modified)
Filters:  IDAS LPS-D1, Triad Tri-Band, STC Duo-Narrowband
Mount:  CEM40 EC
Software:  BYEOS, PHD2, PixInsight

http://www.SteveKing.Pictures/

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4729
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #4 on: 2019 September 30 18:37:53 »
i think you'd have to do that if it stops working again and will need to be done each time it stops working the first time after launching PI.

rob

Offline STEVE333

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
    • sk-images
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #5 on: 2019 September 30 19:37:44 »
i think you'd have to do that if it stops working again and will need to be done each time it stops working the first time after launching PI.

rob

Thanks Rob. The funny thing is that when it didn't work and I closed PI then reopened it, loaded the same image, and then ran the Starnet process, it worked. I'll never understand computers.

Steve
Telescopes:  WO Star71 ii, ES ED102 CF
Camera:  Canon T3 (modified)
Filters:  IDAS LPS-D1, Triad Tri-Band, STC Duo-Narrowband
Mount:  CEM40 EC
Software:  BYEOS, PHD2, PixInsight

http://www.SteveKing.Pictures/

Offline Kinch

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 44
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #6 on: 2019 September 30 22:37:52 »
"The funny thing is that when it didn't work and I closed PI then reopened it, loaded the same image, and then ran the Starnet process, it worked."

I found myself doing that quite often!

Offline drmikevt

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #7 on: 2019 October 02 08:35:24 »
Can I ask a Starnet++ question, please?  I've been running it through the Terminal on Mac since (I think) there is no PI module for Mac.  Is there any benefit to running Starnet as a PI module as opposed to saving the file and running it externally?  Does the file still have to become a 16bit TIFF when using the module within PI? 

Thanks
Mike

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4729
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #8 on: 2019 October 02 08:51:18 »
i *think* that the module can handle non-16 bit data, but i don't know how (meaning, it might internally convert whatever you have to 16b before running).

there is no module for OSX, but the source code is released. i don't think it's a simple matter of just building it though, because nikita could not get it to work on OSX.

rob

Offline Stu

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #9 on: 2019 November 27 17:01:04 »
In the PI Process Console, type:

Code: [Select]
cd /bin/PixInsight

Hi, just mining the forum.  This just started up for me too.  It has previously worked.  I tried typing the above into the process console and I got "*** Error: The target directory doesn't exist: /bin/PixInsight"

I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the program, and also reinstalling the Starnet process and I still get the same problem. 
Any ideas?
Stuart

Offline Stu

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #10 on: 2019 November 27 17:10:35 »
Howdy,
Never mind, found the problem.  I was typing it incorrectly.  Found another post and this is what I needed to type
cd "C:/Program Files/PixInsight/bin"

Offline astrovienna

  • PixInsight Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
    • The Hole in the Trees Skybox
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #11 on: 2019 November 28 10:11:44 »
Howdy,
Never mind, found the problem.  I was typing it incorrectly.  Found another post and this is what I needed to type
cd "C:/Program Files/PixInsight/bin"

Thanks Stu.  I just ran into the same problem, and that worked for me as well.

Kevin

Offline airscottdenning

  • Newcomer
  • Posts: 19
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #12 on: 2019 November 28 14:41:35 »
There IS now a StarNet PI module for MacOS!

See https://www.cloudynights.com/topic/651745-starnet-star-removing-software/page-10?hl=+starnet message #246

Or go straight here:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/starnet/files/PixInsight_module/

Much more convenient than the outside executable, plus I think the PI module is updated whereas the outside executable is not.

Cheers!

Can I ask a Starnet++ question, please?  I've been running it through the Terminal on Mac since (I think) there is no PI module for Mac.  Is there any benefit to running Starnet as a PI module as opposed to saving the file and running it externally?  Does the file still have to become a 16bit TIFF when using the module within PI? 

Thanks
Mike

Offline Stu

  • PixInsight Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #13 on: 2019 November 29 16:52:06 »
I'm finding that I have to put that expression in repeatedly, every time I start up PixInsight.  Is there anyway to make it stick?  I have a text file on my desktop that has it on it, but it is annoying. 
Stu

Offline pfile

  • PTeam Member
  • PixInsight Jedi Grand Master
  • ********
  • Posts: 4729
Re: Starnet Problem
« Reply #14 on: 2019 November 29 20:31:35 »
unfortunately if PI starts up with a different working directory, then you'll have to do the CD thing every time. not sure it can be scripted, but maybe. i have never tried to put a cd command in the startup script.

rob